Restarts while gaming..frustrated.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by geeksterl33t, Dec 27, 2006.

1. geeksterl33t

geeksterl33t Private E-2

Hello everyone. Long time reader, first time poster. I've been building systems for a few years now, and have never seen anything like this..

So here's my problem, and I really hope someone can offer some advice for me....

I recently upgraded some hardware (processor and RAM), and everything worked great for about a week, and now I'm getting the dreaded BSOD while gaming. Outside of playing games, the system is totally stable, never giving any problems. I've run every benchmark and diagnostic test you can imagine, and they all run fine for hours on end with no errors, so this is *really* frustrating to me.

Temps are all well below tolerable specs, so that's not the problem.
    RAM tests out just fine in any test I throw at it, so that's not the problem.
    All drivers are current and up to date, so that's not the problem.

Now, when I'm playing a game and it goes to the BSOD, it's a totally blank BSOD (no error codes to help troubleshoot), and I can hear a sound from inside my case that sounds like a hard drive or something shutting off abruptly. So naturally, I assume there's a problem w/ my main HD, but nope.. passes the HD diagnostics w/ no problem. Soooo... the only thing left that I think it might be is my Power Supply Unit. It's a few years old now, and some of the voltage readings from Motherboard Monitor are a bit off. Tell me if these are tolerable specs..

+3.3 = Average 3.4
    +5.0 = Average 5.0
    +12.0 = Average 11.86
    -12.0 = Average -12.40
    -5.0 = Average -5.20

So what do you think, veteran PC builders? Is this a problem easily solved with a new PSU? Following are my system specs, and my current PSU is a 400w ATX12v.

ASUS A7N8X Deluxe (BIOS 1008)
    AMD Athlon XP 3200+
    2gb Corsair RAM
    Radeon X800 XT (Overclocked a bit)
    2x 80gb Western Digital IDE HDs