SATA Burner Installation

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by dragon312, Feb 26, 2010.

1. dragon312

dragon312 Private E-2

I recently purchased a Samsung DVD Burner SH-S223L/BEBS to replace a broken one. My problem is it didn't come with any instructions or cables to help me figure out how to hook up the SATA cable, where to connect it on the motherboard, nothing. I'm a complete novice when it comes to putting computers together, so any assistance I can get would be appreciated. I have located 2 SATA connections on my motherboard but have no idea where to look for the one on the power supply. I have 2 different SATA cables, one has smaller size connectors about the size of a usb connector, and the other one has connectors about an inch wide. I'm so confused!

2. Nedlamar

Nedlamar MajorGeek

First, power off your PC, unplug it.
    Hit the power button without any power to discharge any stored power and avoid static issues.
    Touch you chasis or Power supply case to discharge yourself.

Now you are ready to install.

You should have an SATA connector cable.

http://www.cs-electronics.com/images-large/SATA-Signal-Cable-1.jpg

It should be installed onto your motherboard in the first available slot and the other end into your drive.
    It will only fit in 1 slot and only fit in 1 way so you can't connect it incorrectly.

The power connector from your power supply looks like this...

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/0/0f/SATA_power_cable.jpg

If you do not have this connector native to your power supply you will need one of these....

http://www.sierra-cables.com/Cables/Images/SATA-Power-Cable-1.jpg
    This converter plugs the white end into normal power connector the same as your old drive (assuming your old drive was not SATA) and the other end into your drive.

And again can only be installed into 1 place on the drive and in 1 way, so again you cannot install it incorrectly.