Software To Backup, Not Image

Discussion in 'Software' started by davidwilp, Dec 11, 2016.

1. davidwilp

davidwilp Private E-2

Hi all. I am looking for reliable software to create automatic backups of files. I already use Macrium Reflect to create images. I just want something that will automatically copy files to a secondary drive or an external drive. I know Crash Plan has free software for that but is there something else I should consider?

Thanks

2. MaxTurner

MaxTurner Banned

All the well-known back up programs will allow you to back up specified file paths. Depending on your Windows Operating, Win 10 has that very facility.

davidwilp likes this.
  3. Earthling

Earthling Interplanetary Geek

I've been using SyncBack Free for more than 10 years and highly recommend it despite a slightly clumsy UI. You set up 'profiles' for each folder (inc its children) you want backed up, the profile defining exactly what you want to happen and when/how often. It's really set it and forget it backup.

If that isn't to your liking there is endless choice, including at MajorGeeks

davidwilp likes this.
  4. davidwilp

davidwilp Private E-2

Does SyncBack allow for copying of files to another drive? OR does it create it's own file? What I am looking to do is automate the process of copying all my file from my C drive to another internal drive or a USB drive. Not to have them encrypted or backed up to a single backup file. Just copy the acutal files and folder of those that are new or changed since the last backup. Thanks

AtlBo likes this.
  5. Earthling

That's what SyncBack does. You specify the path and set the schedule and you can leave it to do its thing. As with any file backup program you do have to be specific as to how it deals with each set of criteria it will encounter, such as what to do if a file exists in the target backup set but not in the source. This is straightforward after a little practice.