Sony VIAO PCG-K35 Not Recognizing RAM

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by gman863, Feb 23, 2011.

1. gman863

gman863 MajorGeek

I'm working on a Sony VIAO PCG-K35 notebook PC that will not recognize the full amount of RAM memory installed.

Both Sony's spec page and the crucial.com memory configuration page state this model will accept a total of 1024MB (2x512MB) DDR2700.

I currently have 2x512MB of DDR 3200 installed. The system powers on and runs; however the BIOS, Windows XP System Info and Everest all show only 640MB installed. There is an onboard ATI graphics card that (according to the BIOS) is only using 64MB of shared memory.

If I pull either of the two RAM chips out, it shows 512 MB of memory.

I updated to the most recent BIOS from Sony's web site; it did not help. The OS is Windows XP Pro SP3.

Any ideas on how to fix this? Thanks in advance for your help.

2. sach2

sach2 Major Geek Extraordinaire

I have little knowledge of how RAM works but my guess is the MB just doesn't like those particular modules. If you look at Newegg under the feedback tab (review #4) on this memory you will see that that model PC only recognizes 192mb for some RAM. It doesn't fit your exact scenario but 512 +192= 704mb. 704mb-64mb(video)=640mb.

Maybe, try the original RAM and one new module in each slot and see if any change? Or try another brand of RAM.

3. gman863

gman863 MajorGeek

Thanks for the response. I shuffled both the original RAM and an extra stick I had between slots. Long story short, it appears to be a glitch in either the BIOS or memory slots.

Given it was built in 2004, I told my friend to live with its current slow speed for now and plan on spending part of her tax refund on a new notebook PC. :)

4. Mimsy

Mimsy Superior Imperial Queen of the MG Games Forum