Suspect blue screen crashes

Discussion in 'Software' started by Justshootme, Aug 1, 2008.

1. Justshootme

Justshootme Private E-2

I'm a Windows XP user. I'm not a newbie, but I'm also not a computer expert I've been experiencing blue screen crashes for more than a month. Suspected my previous Brother MFC 3420C printer which I could not uninstall despite contacting Brother by phone, attempting to download the uninstaller from their website, and following EVERY bit of info I could find on this subject! At startup, I get a Windows startup installer that just WON'T GO away. There is no removal button in my Add/Drop programs for the MFC 3420c, I can't find the file I downloaded and I can't find the unzipped file I downloaded to help me get rid of this thing (my WinZip doesn't work). To compound this maddening problem, I decided yesterday to update to Service Pack 3, thinking this was unrelated to my blue screen problems. Low and behold, when my computer restarted, it did a chkdsk on my file system!! Well, I thought, maybe this will stop my blue screen crashes, as chkdsk proceeded to "fix" errors in my master file, volume bitmap security descriptors. But, I'm still experiencing these crashes!! I had another one about less than two hours ago, and when I tried send the error report to Microsoft, it told me the error report was corrupt and could not be analyzed. Never had that happen before. This is serious. I DON't know where to begin. Can you pleassssse help me? I took snapshots of the chkdsk screens and can submit these in a separate thread if it will help.

2. dlb

dlb MajorGeek