Swept, De-fragged, Deleted EReg Errors, and Reg Defraged, now a problem.

Discussion in 'Software' started by Dark Angel, Aug 27, 2009.

1. Dark Angel

Dark Angel Private E-2

I ran the disk sweep, disk defrag, TweakNow2006 registry cleaner and registry defrag, all of which I have done many times before, and after the reboot (required after registry defrag), every time I open my browser, IE, and almost everytime I open a new tab, the computer runs some type of scan. The picture shows each frame/step of the scan, top to bottom, left to right, 1 through 6. On #3, when I hit "Ok", I get #4. When I hit "Browse" I get five, and when I hit "Cancel" I get six. I have never used or seen this scan before. I'd appreciate any help in this matter. Thank you!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v483/cheetah7985/ScanError.jpg

[​IMG]

2. ~Q~

~Q~ Command Sergeant Major

Hi Dark angel, well im not familiar with this problem, but i googled the "1706" error code and i found this..... http://support.microsoft.com/kb/297834

Do you have Office installed and if so is it working ok?

Im thinking maybe one the maintenance prog's you ran have deleted or messed up a file.

Have you tried system restore?

If that works i would advise you dont use those maintenance app's anymore, they dont really do much at all and when they do it is not always good.

Ccleaner and a good defragger is adequate maintenance.

Ccleaner ~ http://majorgeeks.com/download4191.html

3. Dark Angel

Dark Angel Private E-2

Office is working fine and the system restore did not work. :( I am unable to use the troublshooting link you provided because I do not have the Office CD-ROM. Thank you for your help, any other ideas?

4. ~Q~

~Q~ Command Sergeant Major

5. Dark Angel

Dark Angel Private E-2

The same problem occurs.

6. iwunderdownunder

iwunderdownunder First Sergeant

g'day Dark Angel