Ubuntu 7.10 - Blank screen after login user/password

Discussion in 'Software' started by Norcalsteve22, Feb 15, 2008.

1. Norcalsteve22

Norcalsteve22 Private E-2

I am new to Linux, and i am having problems after the install. After running the Ubuntu Live CD and liking it, due to its compatibility with my hardware, i decided to full install, no dual boot, kiss windows goodbye!! when the computer restarts and all is good, its time for the 186 updates to download and install. but when it is time to reboot yet again, it comes up, i put in my user name and password, then it is stuck on a "yellowish" screen, and all that works is a mouse curser. I also notice after slamming my keyboard keys in a fit of rage (after 10 minutes of nothing, but losing patience), i can put the computer to sleep with some order of a key command... and hitting the space bar wakes it up. so i do see that keyboard short cuts still work (well, "button mashing" at least) would anyone know if this is a video problem? or some bug like a screen saver, or just plain madness and incompatibility with new software updates on the system?

2. nilsA

nilsA Private E-2

Maybe this is a broken package during upgrade. What you need to do is start in safe mode from GRUB and/or at the graphical log-in go to the little menu on one side, and choose log in to command line.

When you get the command line, log in to your account.

Then:

Code:
    sudo apt-get upgrade
    sudo apt-get install
    Look carefully for error messages. There may be some dpkg to repair. It most probably will say what to do. Then do that, and repeat the above until nothing is left (0 packages found).

Now, try startX

If you are lucky, things will be fine.

If not, go back to the command line:

Code:
    sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg. 
    Don't be tempted to let it find the graphics card and monitor by itself. Choose to select yourself.