Unable To Download Windows 7 Update

Discussion in 'Software' started by Georgew7510, Aug 8, 2016.

1. Georgew7510

Georgew7510 Private E-2

I am a computer novice - I know I've said that before. I have a Dell Inspiron 3647 with Windows 7 and use Firefox and Thunderbird. The most recent Windows update will not download. I have re-booted, unplugged everything, turned off anti-virus (Norton 360), and the little exclamation point keeps re-appearing. I've used the suggestions from Google that I could understand, but still nothing. It appears to download, shuts off my computer, but then the exclamation point. On the auto download section it says "download failed." Help will be sincerely appreciated.
    George

2. satrow

satrow Major Geek Extraordinaire

3. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

It is not normal for something to download and turn off your computer.

Open your View History Update in the left pane.
    What is the KB of the update that is failing to install?

If there is more than one that has failed, post those numbers.

July was a fairly light month so I don't expect that there would be more than 12 failed updates.

4. Georgew7510

Georgew7510 Private E-2

5. Georgew7510

Georgew7510 Private E-2

plodr:
    The failed updates are for "Intel Corporation driver update for Intel (R) HD graphics."
    I have no idea what that is.
    George

6. MaxTurner

MaxTurner Banned

You should be able to click on a 'more information' link that will open in a browser.
    You can check exactly what type of Intel HD graphics you have using this small free tool:
    SPECCY

7. plodr

Hide it. Never accept driver updates from MS. I think I have that same driver sitting in the hidden section for years.

8. plodr

Since I can't edit, I'll post the example. In August 2015, I was offered this update
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/3064209
    on our four Windows 7 computers. It states
    The problem is, two of the computers are not Intel, they are AMD!