Upgrade CPU AMD 5400+ to 6400+ Question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jwill58, Apr 16, 2008.

1. jwill58

jwill58 Private E-2

I just upgraded my CPU from an A64 5400+ up to a 6400+ Black Edition. The problem (is this a problem) is where the Welcome page (Vista Home Premium) lists the details-it says :processor 3.2ghz unknown processor. Before with the old 5400+ , well the processor was recognized....it was listed with the proper name...AMD A64 5400+ @ 2.8ghz. I know this isnt a big thing but Im curious if maybe I messed up...skipped something ? Any ideas or help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks ,
    jwill58

2. dlb

dlb MajorGeek

Welcome to MajorGeeks. I'm no Vista expert, but I'm thinking it's just the fact that Vista doesn't have the 'spec sheet' for that particular CPU. It won't effect performance, so it's like you said, it isn't a big deal. There may be an update from Microsoft that will address the issue so check there and check the optional hardware updates also. Have you installed the AMD drivers? Like for Cool-N-Quiet? There's also an AMD CPU optimizer and stability driver but I'm not 100% sure if it's for Vista or all AMD chips. I have it installed on my PC (I downloaded it from my motherboard maker) and it hasn't improved stability or performance (I had no performance or stability issues to start with) but it has lowered the CPU temp by an average of 10c...

3. jwill58

jwill58 Private E-2