upgrade?/downgrade!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by wadeh917, Jun 7, 2004.

1. wadeh917

wadeh917 Private E-2

Hi y'all. Here's a problem I hope someone can help me with.

I upgraded my comp from 400Mhz Celeron, 160M PC100 RAM, 4M vid card, 20G HDD to Soyo Dragon KT600 mobo w/Athlon XP 2400+ cpu, 256M PC2700 RAM, Radeon 7500 AGP vid card, and added a 120G HDD as slave drive.

Problem is, now it runs even slower than it did before. For example, it takes 25 seconds to add a bookmark to "favorites" (no exaggeration, I timed it) or "refresh" a closed window off the screen.

I need help with this. I'm not a newbie but I'm no geek either...

2. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

What OS?
    did you do a clean install?

3. wadeh917

wadeh917 Private E-2

I'm running win98 SE and did a full format and clean install...

4. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

have you updated all patches.. scanned for spyware etc.?

5. da chicken

da chicken MajorGeek

Have you installed the latest chipset and video drivers?

6. wadeh917

wadeh917 Private E-2

The drivers are the latest releases, but the patches are not. I'm getting them now. There is no spyware.

Last edited: Jun 7, 2004
  7. Wyatt_Earp

Wyatt_Earp MajorGeek

I had a similar problem when I built my computer. It turned out the problem was with the newest nVidia chipset drivers. You might want to try a couple different versions.

8. fleppen

fleppen Gumshoe

you'll need the 4-in-1 drivers from Via, get them here, the drivers windows98 supplies don't fully support the chipset you're using (Via KT600), make sure you have those drivers updated, also, you did make sure that your hdd's are both on the same IDE ribbon and the cd/dvd drives on their own ribbon?

9. wadeh917

wadeh917 Private E-2