Upgrading AMD Athlon(tm) processor?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Z1PPY, Mar 20, 2006.

1. Z1PPY

Z1PPY Private E-2

Hi. I am completely new to this mallarky, but I did enjoy playing Homeworld 1 and its side game Cataclysm so much I want to go on to play Homeworld 2, but the minimum spec is a Pentium 3 or equivalent so long as I have a processor of around 830MHz and 256 MB of RAM.

My PC has an AMD Athlon Processor of 799 MHz and 255.48 MB RAM.

Can I update these specs and run the game, or would it just not be cost effective?

Any other specs I need to look at (the game doesnt specify grpahic accelerator)?:confused:

2. Steeev

Steeev Corporal

Are you running onboard graphics (i.e. does your motherboard handle the graphics for your computer?)
    If so, buying a cheap card would free up more system memory, as this is being used to run the graphics, taking away from free memory. An extra 256Mb RAM wouldn't go a miss, either.
    As for your CPU, you could attempt to overclock it the extra 30MHz, and there are quite a few people who would be able to help you on these forums.

3. Z1PPY

Z1PPY Private E-2

Thanks Steeev

I am running onboard graphics, so I could buy a cheap card and extra RAM as you say.

"As for your CPU, you could attempt to overclock it the extra 30MHz, and there are quite a few people who would be able to help you on these forums."

Would this not run the risk of overheating the CPU?

4. Steeev

Steeev Corporal

It's possible it could - you could always improve the cooling inside your case.
    I O'ced my old celeron and Duron without much difficulty, as the temperatures involved with older processors aren't as severe as the new ones.
    If you're unsure, it may be worth your while just upgrading the CPU.. I doubt an Athlon will be too expensive, Ebay is a good place to research prices for older chips.