upgrading ram advice

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by millionmonkes, Dec 27, 2013.

1. millionmonkes

millionmonkes Private E-2

I've got an net book acer aspire one D270 windows 7 starter 32 bit with 1 GB. I'm constantly running out of memory and lagging, I don't expect much from a net book but I should be able to play flash games and watch you tube without freezing and crashing, it's defiantly a memory issue according to task task manager with 90-98%used and CPU only about 5-10%max and any point, I'm a student and don't have the money for anything better now so I've been looking into some options and would enjoy some advice.

Part A: So the cap for 32 bit windows is 2 GB and 4 GB for 64 bit so changing the operating system to add more ram would be good if I had the money for that which I don't so I found this page explaining how to remove the ram cap http://www.unawave.de/windows-7-tipps/32-bit-ram-barrier.html?lang=EN it make sense to me that it is a software issue because just changing to OS makes 4 GB possible also the malware guide says “MINIMUM of 3 GB for Vista or Windows 7 but the more memory you can add the better.” so 2 GB can't be the real cap, but I'm not an expert, so if it is safe/legal and you've actually tried to remove that limit can you tell me about it.

Part B: if it's a hardware problem is there a way to use more of the CPU to help balance resources?

Part C: if it's a OS issue but not legal with windows is there another OS that would work for what i need to do, I have no experience using anything other than windows

thanks guys hope you have a good one

2. gman863

gman863 MajorGeek

Welcome to Major Geeks.

My experience has been that upgrading the RAM to 2GB will make a noticeable difference when surfing the Internet or using programs like MS-Office. It will not, however, allow the netbook to run advanced games or video editing.