Upgrading RAM (frequency compatibility)

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by pinsky, May 30, 2011.

1. pinsky

pinsky Private E-2

Hello there!

I have some holes in knowledge I'm looking to fill. I have a hp510 with 512 ddr2-533 Mb of RAM. I've found in the manual that my model can take up to 1Gb of Ram since it has only one memory slot.

I wasn't able to find if there is a limitation due to frequency. The current memory module runs on 533mhz, i plan on removing that module and putting a new one sized 1Gb. Can the new one have a frequency, for example, 1066mhz (also ddr2)?

tnx

2. augiedoggie

augiedoggie The Canadian Loon - LocoAugie (R.I.P. 2012)

Run the application from crucial.com, it'll tell you best what speed you can run at. If your motherboard supports 1066, then that's fine but if it's only 533 then your 1066 will run at that reduced speed, either way it's a good upgrade option for you. One of the last XP machines. What do you use it for that makes you think you need extra memory?

3. pinsky

pinsky Private E-2

Thanks for the advice, a i'll do that first thing tomorrow.

I've tried to figure the slot maximum frequency using Sandra and Speccy, but it seemed that they only show the frequency of the currently installed memory module. (correct me if I'm wrong with the parameter name I should look for)

The reason i want to upgrade the ram is constant lags i've noticed to show in the last year or so. They manifest themselves through long waiting times when opening folders or browser.

At first I suspected it was, malware, so I've done a clean install just to be sure, but the problems continued.
    Then i thought it could be a hardware problem so i monitored the working temperatures and SMART attributes of the hard disk. The temperatures were fine and the SMART parameters where only a few points below ideal.