Using EVGA Precision

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by jefflbi, Mar 13, 2011.

1. jefflbi

jefflbi Private First Class

I hope this is the right forum for this question. If not, feel free to move it.

Ok, I recently started playing Modern Warfare 2 and I've been having a freezing issue that forces me to hard boot my system. Needless to say it's quite annoying, especially when it happens only a few minutes into the game. But rather than blame the game, as so many do, I figure it's got to be something with my system. Now it just so happens that I had the exact same problem with Modern Warfare 1, although on a different system, but I think the cause was similar. At first I thought it was an overheating issue, and removing my side panel does appear to alleviate the problem. But after installing EVGA Precision, I'm not so sure. But I think just a little tweaking on my part just might resolve my issue. I set EVGA to display my GPU temp, fan %, memory clock and memory usage over top of the game. My normal operating temp is 50º C, and the fan is running at 50%. It only takes a few minutes for the temp to climb to 61º and the fan is running at about 60% as well. The thing I noticed is that the Memory clock is set to 1150. When the game froze this last time the temp was 64º, the fan was at 61%, and the Memory clock in the realtime display said 1152. My question is could it be that the memory clock usage is what's causing my freezing issues? If so, how do I adjust it to prevent that??

I hope I've described it correctly. Thanks in advance!

2. jefflbi