Using Knoppix 5.0

Discussion in 'Software' started by ItsWendy, May 18, 2008.

1. ItsWendy

ItsWendy MajorGeek

OK, I am a complete noob on Linux, and I am currently trying out a Knoppix 5.0 DVD, using it right now to make this post. Near as I can tell everything is being stored on RAM Disk, I haven't figured out how to access my HD at all. My normal OS is XP Pro.

I'm going to break it down a little. How do I see my HD in Knoppix?

Is there a way to store my favorites and configs so I don't start from scratch every time?

Let's assume my HD is totally inaccessable, can I use a USB card to replace my HD?

My computer has removable hard drive bays, so I can configure a hard drive entirely in Knoppix, how would I do this? Transfer the ISO to the hard drive, or what?

Thanks guys.

2. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

Knoppix is not really intended for a hard drive install.
    Go here http://www.frozentech.com/content/livecd.php
    and download PCLinux, MEPIS and Ubuntu. Mandriva is also good but there are several choices and it can be confusing as to what to get. Those three will all run live but they will also have an icon on the desktop labelled install. If you click that, it will offer a choice of places to install (a second hard drive will be sdb, if it is an IDE) and will format as ext2, ext3 or Reiser and also create a swap partition.

3. ItsWendy

ItsWendy MajorGeek

I wasn't really interested in hard drive install, at least not in the short term. I was just curious if there was a way to prevent a complete fresh install every time, and save things like bookmarks and whatnot. It is hard to work with an OS on that basis. I would also like to access some of the data off my hard drive, a lot of programs will work better with Linux than XP, so I was wanting to try them out.