Vista laptop will not boot after windows updates

Discussion in 'Software' started by saltyboy, Dec 16, 2010.

1. saltyboy

saltyboy Guest

Hi guys,
    need real help here need my laptop for work in morning and have come to turn it on but noticed updates so installed them now my laptop will not boot up and keeps going to start up repair and just keeps hanging there and not finding anything.

please can anyone help would much appreciate it.

2. grandma11

grandma11 Private E-2

my toshibal laptop is hanging up on the updates . it gets to 3of 3 and stays there . what do i do? i am new at this geek board so hope i havent posted to wrong board.....thanks...

3. iain.t

iain.t MajorGeek

Hi and welcome to MG's,

You should of created a new thread instead of dredging up an old post!!

Anyway not to worry... back to your issue.... have you tried installing the updates one at a time?? go to start> programs> windows update> search new for new updates and select them one at a time to install.

Hope this helps.

4. grandma11

grandma11 Private E-2

sorry if i posted wrogn i dont know how to create a new thread i am new at this....................my laptop is hung on update 3 of 3 i cant get it off of that. i cant go back to start menus.. i need to know what i might need to do .. to get it off the 3 of 3.. it only stays on the update for a second then shuts down and starts all over again...................................:-o

5. iain.t

iain.t MajorGeek

Hi,
    Ok I need for you to start your laptop in "safemode with networking" (press f8 on re-boot) to see if you get the same issue. Am I right in thinking that your laptop is stuck in a continious loop (where the install will not finish and your laptop re-boots itself over and over??).
    Could you also tell me what version of windows you are using i.e... win9*/2000/ME/Vista or Win 7... and also at what service pack it is running.

6. grandma11

grandma11 Private E-2