Vista Transformation Pack - failed :(

Discussion in 'Software' started by aklmtnbkr, Jun 10, 2008.

1. aklmtnbkr

aklmtnbkr Private E-2

HI

Im new to this :(
    I loaded the following "appearance" program to my XP and now my pc wont start up: http://www.majorgeeks.com/Vista_Transformation_Pack_d4924.html ... Itworked fine, then I shut down my pc and when I re started it, it opens the user and then just shows the background pic and wont actually go any further. It doesnt matter if I try safe mode etc...

What can I do to remove this program so my pc works as normal?

2. akhilles

akhilles First Sergeant

If you don't use Windows backup, turn it on RIGHT NOW!

Try booting to safe mode & uninstall it.

3. aklmtnbkr

aklmtnbkr Private E-2

Yupp, last night I did a System Restore.. however the earliest date available was the day the VTP was loaded and nothing prior to this. I tried to remove it but it wouldnt allow me into the Add/Remove Programs and just kept coming up with an error "dll" and come other letters. When I start the PC, it gives me the option to load my password in but then it just brings up the background pic and wont activate my actual desk top. It keeps giving the error userinit.exe . I found out last night if I go control Alt delete, I can run c drive from there (it also wont allow me to run in ms dos (cmd) as it gives me the "dll"error again)... Once I run c drive, my desk top comes back but I have no access to any of the pc's security or main files. I can only access my pics and general documents.

I did the run sys/scannow (think thats what it was) to fix anything missing files but this didnt do the trick either :(

4. Cordialis

Cordialis MajorGeek

Well, you do need help right away. You can't go on without a PC day in and day out. If only I knew how. Have you seen that there is one new answer in your thread in that other forum? http://www.jcxp.net/forums/index.php?showtopic=28774 You should try writing in it again...

5. aklmtnbkr