Wanted: new backup SW & schedule--advice?

Discussion in 'Software' started by ZenPup, Jan 4, 2009.

1. ZenPup

ZenPup Private E-2

I'm running XP on an old system whose CD burner is kaput for the time being & doesn't even have a DVD drive. I need to back up to an external drive or flash drive, but being of an old-school mentality, I'm still thinking that I need to do incremental backups so I can fish out the right files to restore, not just burn an image of the whole thing (though that has its place, too). I do have a 2nd (physical) drive in my PC that could be used, but I prefer the idea of physically separating the backups so the same power outtage doesn't fry them both ;)

There's just way too much software out there for me to sort through. I'm willing to handle my songs & photos/videos separately if that makes it simpler, but I need not just docs saved but templates, etc. (I'm a writer.) And I'm not even sure I have CDs for restoring software (or the OS!) if I ever needed to.

My (perhaps old-fashioned) ideas come from sysadmin days a couple decades ago(!) But I thought perhaps I would approach it thus: first make an image on a dedicated device. Then do a monthly backup on a single device, updating anything that has changed each month. Also a weekly backup, alternating weeks (week A, week B devices), and then daily backup devices (or every 2 days). This way I can always restore something within a day or two of the loss date.

But this plan involves a lot of hands-on, and my schedule is VERY flexible, so there are days I do no work & don't even touch the computer but I'd still need to physically start the backup.

Would love to hear good systems/schedules for dealing with this, especially if they are foolproof (yes, I'm the weak link in the chain). Then which software would perform just what I would need for such an arrangement.

2. Lev

Lev MajorGeek

Sounds laborious but I understand your concerns, especially being a writer.