What Is The Difference Between Dvi Or Vga And Ms Timing On Flat Lcd Screen

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by superstar, Aug 13, 2006.

1. superstar

superstar Major-Superstar

Hello I have a "SAPPHIRE RADEON 9550 256MB 128BIT" video card, and I am buying a new lcd flatscreen for the first time in my life. My video card has more than one output... as in you can connect different things on it. But I do not know exactly what can be connected as I am new to system building and such. Anyways I heard there are different kinds of connections that come with lcd flatscreens. VGA, and DVI or whatever else there is. I also heard that there are different MS (ie: millisecond) speeds, or well at least I think that is what it stands for.

My questions are:

1. What is the best choice for me when I buy an lcd flatscreen, dvi or vga? Does it even matter? I want to keep up to date with these things so I don't want to use old technology. If some dvi thing hooks up to my vid card and is newer technology than vga, than I want that. Please tell me...

2. Does it matter if a lcd flatscreen is 12ms or 8ms? Is there a big difference? I hope that means milliseconds. If so than I bet it does'nt matter. I just want to know as I watch a lot of movies on my pc, and play 3d games.

This is the lcd flatscreen I am thinking of getting:

LG LCD FLATSCREEN

2. InYearsToCome

InYearsToCome MajorGeek

DVI is the newer and superior connection (white connector on the video card). VGA is the older one (blue connector). DVI provides better clarity for sharper images, and faster communication due to higher bandwidth.