What's wrong with copy/paste?

Discussion in 'Software' started by drcarl, Apr 1, 2011.

1. drcarl

drcarl Staff Sergeant

For a couple of weeks now, the copy/paste function has been hobbled.

I have been cutting or copying and pasting for many years and rely on both the keyboard shortcuts and mouse clicking options.

What's happening now: I select and copy something, say, some text, a URL, anything. If I go directly to my target and paste, all is good. If I delay for more than 30? 60? seconds, or do some other task on the way to my target, nothing is there when I attempt to paste! It's like the copy/past has expired and now has a time limit.

I've run sfc /scannow and all is good. I am getting no error messages.

Am running Win 7 x64.

Although it's a relatively minor issue, and I've a workaround, it's pushing me to the breaking point and may drive me insane...and we really don't want me to be insane. :cry

Help?

TIA
    :major
    drcarl

2. w7pro

w7pro Private E-2

3. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

In the run box type services.msc then <enter>
    Look for the following services:
    Network DDE DSDM
    Network DDE
    Clipbook

Right click and select Restart

4. drcarl

drcarl Staff Sergeant

I would really like to find a solution besides System Restore since I have been cleaning some things up, uninstalling, re-installing, etc.

I opened services.msc successfully yet find ~none~ of the three services mentioned to right-click on and restore.

I really hope that someone can help me figure this out.

TIA

drcarl

5. Caliban

Caliban I don't need no steenkin' title!

Greetings, drcarl.

I have seen references to your problem involving the Win 7 Aero theme - if you have Aero running, you might try disabling it and see if your symptoms change.

If that doesn't help, do the symptoms present when you boot to Safe Mode? There may be some 3rd-party programs or services causing the issue.

6. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

7. drcarl