win16 subsystem insufficient resources to run

Discussion in 'Software' started by pegg, Jan 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pegg

pegg MajorGeek

Have work computers running Windows XP Pro. Two different ones have a program they have run for months.

Suddenly when they try to open the program an error pops up saying "win16 subsystem has insufficient resources to run".
    I googled this and saw info on 16 bit and 32 bit, etc. and I'm no IT expert but I am the one here that needs to fix this.

What do I need to do (in layman's terms)?

2. pegg

pegg MajorGeek

One computer (we'll call it computer 1) was rebooted and the program was opened FIRST before other programs and all was fine.

Computer 2 tried this also but the program still did not open and gave the same error message....so...?

3. Insomniac

Insomniac Billy Ray Cyrus #1 Fan

Download THIS file to your desktop and run it.

4. pegg

pegg MajorGeek

Thanks -- I saved it on the network and just ran it on both the client computers that were having problems (I'm assuming that was ok to do).

Hopefully that's all we need. Thanks for your response.

5. Insomniac

You're welcome, glad to help. ;)

6. pegg

pegg MajorGeek

Well -- I thought we had this all fixed but...

After I ran the "fix" program on both computers -- Computer 1 is happy.

Computer 2 still won't run the engineering program though -- same error message as before.

That computer has M$ Windows XP Pro v. 2002, Service Pack 2, 2 GB Ram, Pentium 4. It's only a couple months old and had been running everything fine.

Any other ideas?

7. Insomniac

Have you tried reinstalling the engineering program?

Also, how old is this program?

8. pegg

pegg MajorGeek

No -- I didn't do that because it sounded like a Microsoft problem.

The program has been used for a couple years...I installed it when I set up the computer a couple months ago.

9. Insomniac

The programs files may have become corrupt.