Win7 - llmnr & ws-discovery - info request

Discussion in 'Software' started by EssCee, Jul 17, 2013.

1. EssCee

EssCee Private E-2

Hi folks,

I'm using an Acer laptop with Win 7 Home Premium and ESET Smart Security 4. I connect to the 'net via wifi, and the only other machine permanently on the network (apart from my XP desktop, which is also wifi so I tend not to have it connected at the same time) is a Vista desktop.
    I'm fairly new to Win 7, and have noticed the following:
    Soon after I boot and open a browser, ESET firewall pops up a remote connection attempt from llmnr or ws-discovery (usually one after the other) from the Vista machine. I have no need to connect to the Vista box, so I select Deny (tho, until I understand it, it's always a temporary Deny).
    Shortly thereafter it appears that I no longer have an internet connection, although I can still ping the DNS server. I am aware that the two above named services are part of something called Network Discovery. I have disabled IPv6 on my laptop.

Can anybody tell me about Network Discovery, and also why I need it to surf?
    Is there any security risk associated with allowing those services?

2. EssCee

EssCee Private E-2

Anybody?

3. plodr

plodr Major Geek Super Extraordinaire

I'm not sure ESET Smart Security v4 is supported. Why are you running a version from 2010 instead of the current v6 (v 7 is beta)?
    I'm running v6 on an XP computer so I can't help with the firewall issue.

I have a PM in to someone who works at ESET to see if v4 is still supported. Once I get an answer, I might be able to find support documentation.

4. EssCee

EssCee Private E-2

Ok, thanks, but can you tell me about llmnr and ws-discovery? Why do they try to connect to me, and how do they affect internet connectivity?

5. EssCee

EssCee Private E-2

If nobody can help me re: this info, can anyone point me in the direction of a board / resource that can?

6. DavidGP