Win7 Recurring Bluescreen

Discussion in 'Software' started by seekgeek, Feb 12, 2012.

1. seekgeek

seekgeek Private E-2

OS Name Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium x64
    Version 6.1.7601 Service Pack 1 Build 7601
    PC: Acer Aspire X3400
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 215 Processor, 2700 Mhz

Hi all
    I'm a PC novice with little or no technical knowledge.

Anyhow... after performing ok for varying periods, the monitor screen goes fuzzy & I have to manually shut down the PC.
    Following that it frequently won't reboot so I've attempted a variety of Microsoft Fixes - none of which have helped.

BTW, it seems I should have (but didn't) do any backups plus the 'System Restore' function doesn't work.
    Acer didn't provide a Windows Installation Disk.

With the most recent bluescreen issue, I noted error code 0xc000000f

Problem signature:
    Problem Event Name: BlueScreen
    OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
    Locale ID: 2057

Additional information about the problem:
    BCCode: 3b
    BCP1: 00000000C0000005
    BCP2: FFFFF800035AC9BC
    BCP3: FFFFF88008EC5FC0
    BCP4: 0000000000000000
    OS Version: 6_1_7601
    Service Pack: 1_0
    Product: 768_1

Files that help describe the problem:
    C:\Windows\Minidump\021212-17565-01.dmp
    C:\Users\Tony\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-41777-0.sysdata.xml

I have a 'HijackThis' log and can provide it if necessary.

Any help would be appreciated.
    Thanks, Tony

2. kipfeet

kipfeet Corporal

Sounds as if it might be a hardware or environment problem, perhaps a bad connection to the monitor or overheating, etc. Are the fans running? Do they run faster just before the blue screen? I'm no hardware expert but someone on here is. If it is hardware you may have to go back to Acer for the fix. I suggest trying to get those backup disks made if you can. Good luck.

3. seekgeek

seekgeek Private E-2

I've no idea how to check fans but can hear a whirring noise at the back of the PC.