Windows 7 -- Freezes and becomes non-responsive

Discussion in 'Software' started by Dan In Kansas, Jan 21, 2013.

1. Dan In Kansas

Dan In Kansas Private E-2

Disclaimer: I fix washers and dryers for a living, so I'm likely to not know many of the basics.

Here's what I know:

1) I have an HP 2800 running Windows 7 home edition.

2) The unit has a developed a habit of freezing requiring a hard reboot to restart.

3) The problem has gotten worse over time, sometimes with as much as 8 hours between freeze-ups and sometimes less than two minutes.

4) The computer WILL freeze if I go onto YouTube.com and play a video. This is 100% reliable. This will happen in SafeMode as well as regular mode.

5) The computer MAY freeze if I'm on FaceBook or dragging the mouse down screen. It will EVENTUALLY freeze if I'm playing music. Webmusic is also 100% reliable at bringing on a freeze, though it may take minutes rather than seconds.

6) The computer MAY freeze in SafeMode, but this is rare.

Running Windows Event Viewer, these messages are consistently logged before the times when the computer has frozen up:

A) "The winlogon notification subscriber <GPClient> was unavailable to handle a notification event."

B) "DCOM got error "1084" attempting to start the service ShellHWDetection with arguments "" in order to run the server:
    {DD522ACC-F821-461A-A407-50B198B896DC}"

C) "DCOM got error "1084" attempting to start the service EventSystem with arguments "" in order to run the server:
    {1BE1F766-5536-11D1-B726-00C04FB926AF}"

D) "DCOM got error "1084" attempting to start the service WSearch with arguments "" in order to run the server:
    {7D096C5F-AC08-4F1F-BEB7-5C22C517CE39}"

Other messages that are logged after the restart:

I) Some processor performance power management features have been disabled due to a known firmware problem. Check with the computer manufacturer for updated firmware.

II) The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load: