Windows back up and reinstalling Win 7

Discussion in 'Software' started by quinlad, Aug 16, 2010.

1. quinlad

quinlad Private E-2

Hello,

My laptop is running quite slowly and I get a black screen on start-up that tells me I have a disk error (but disk checking fails).

I've run Windows Back Up on an external hard drive.

If I reinstall Windows clean, is it likely to resolve my problems? Will restoring a system image create the same issues again?

And is Windows Back Up a safe way of restoring? As a novice, I'm petrifed about losing files, programmes, playlists and email accounts!

Any advice would be great. Thanks!

2. Caliban

Caliban I don't need no steenkin' title!

Greetings, quinlad...

IMO, if you have the machine's restore disks (or if there's a restore partition in storage), use them to format/reinstall Windows...as far as I know, Windows Backup, even though it has the option to save all files on a drive, doesn't create an image of your operating system, which would be the proper procedure...since you've already saved your documents and files, you should be fine...

Keep us posted...

3. usafveteran

usafveteran MajorGeek

Disk checking fails? Do you mean you run a test and get a report saying the disk is faulty, or that the test will not run, or what? I'd want to be sure my hard drive is OK before reinstalling Windows.

4. Caliban

Caliban I don't need no steenkin' title!

Good point, AFVet - assumed op meant the check failed to find anything - by all means, check out the hardware...

My bad...

5. Earthling

Earthling Interplanetary Geek

Unlike Backup in previous versions, in Win 7 you can backup just files or you can image the entire system. So it depends on what type of backup the OP chose.

6. Earthling

If you really mean a clean install from an installation disk then yes it will, subject to your hardware being OK, which it might not be from what you say