Windows Small Business Server Question

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Jodi, Aug 2, 2005.

1. Jodi

Jodi Private First Class

Hi Everyone, I am a web designer and I have a question pertaining to Intra office servers V's say 1&1 Hosting company...the thing is I need to explain to a client why they cannot host a web site that I have designed for them on their "Windows 2003 Small Business Server" that is already designated to the domain that they want for their web site that I have created….and why it would be more practical to host it on such a hosting company as 1&1, (and that they need to use a different domain name, because the intra office server is already using the one they want) I understand that an intra office server may not be able to handle the high traffic load that a web host can, but to explain all of the differences to my customer ….well….I am a designer so hosting and servers are fairly new to me. Any advice on this one would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks a bunch everyone!

2. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

for starters , it leaves their server open to the outside as port 80 (HTTP) must be open. If for some reason their server became compromised through a vulnerability in their web server, then they are in for some unwelcomed downtime and some really pissed off customers. Of course, that's worst case scenario but a VERY feasable one at that.

It's ALWAYS a good idea to separate front end business layers like web sites from actual working business layers like domain/file servers. Exposing a Server to the outside world like that is an accident waiting to happen.

It sounds as though this company really needs to hire a networking consultant, or maybe you could start to do the same as an additional service to your clientelle.

3. Jodi

Jodi Private First Class