Windows Won't Update, Probably Bits, Error 80246008

Discussion in 'Software' started by DawnGoCubs, Dec 15, 2016.

1. DawnGoCubs

DawnGoCubs Private E-2

I've been struggling with my computer for months. When trying to download Windows updates it takes forever while it says it is preparing to install. Finally I get a big red X and the error code80246008. Windows says click here for the fix and then of course says it can't help. I realized that the svchost (netsvcs) that includes Windows Update is 25% of CPU usage. If I turn off Windows Update the CPU goes back to about 5%. I have so much room on my drive it wasn't noticeably moving more slowly. I know that there are huge MBs of updates. I've been doing this for a few months now and I can't remember how I got onto it but I think it's BITS. BITS is under the same svchost along with update. BITS looks to be turned on in every place but my Resource Monitor. I can't get it to start there. Otherwise Services.msc, Process Explorer etc seem to show it running fine but pulling a lot of CPU..

I tried the solution of doing something regarding net start bits and net start wuauserv. I know I did something before that but this didn't start BITS. sfc/scannow result is: Windows Resource Protection found corrupt files but was unable to fix some of them. Details are included in the CBS.log. Maybe I should have started with this. I don't know a lot about computers and I don't know how to get into the CBS.log. I'd bet my Christmas presents that the corrupt file is BITS. I read something about having to get a new file from another computer to get a good file to replace the correct one. That is way out of my league. I would love any help from anyone. Thank You. Dawn

2. mdonah

mdonah Major Geek Extraordinaire

Dawn,

What is the make and model of your computer? What version of Windows are you running on it?