wireless network setup w/ no optical drive or modem reset capabilities

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ajmar222, Jan 1, 2011.

1. ajmar222

ajmar222 Private E-2

I have an unusual problem that I'm hoping someone can help me with.

I'm studying abroad in Japan, and my dorm has no wifi. As stated in the title, I have no optical drive on my computer, so I will need to install a wireless router manually, without an installation wizard. I'm subscribing to the only internet service provided (there's an ethernet jack in my wall and it magically started working when I paid them for internet), but I don't have access to a modem which I can reset as required by the setup instructions online for installation without a CD.

I would like to know how I can set up an encrypted wireless network with these conditions, as well as what equipment I would need to pull it off.

In addition, can someone explain the difference between a broadband router and whatever kind of wireless router that isn't broadband? Just shopping around to see how much wireless will cost me, I see some labeled "broadband" but can't figure out the difference.

Please let me know if you can help. Thanks in advance.

2. handygal

handygal First Sergeant

I'm not completely following what you are trying to do.

You are in a dorm and paying for internet gets you a wired connection but not a wireless connection. You want to connect wireless to the one connection. Be aware that it may or may not work, depending on how the main network is being handled. I'll assume that it's similar to what I have in my office and it works there.

I have a netgear rangemax router. I didn't not use the setup wizard because I"m not connecting to a modem and I use static IP's. When you connect to a network that is already configured, not all of the steps apply.