Would a graphics card solve these annoying issue?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by RockinRoll, Oct 11, 2009.

1. RockinRoll

RockinRoll Private E-2

I've got a 1 year old computer in my bedroom and I picked this case because it was "silent." It is silent...when it's turned off. :) But when it's running it, somtimes, constantly kicks in a back-up fan that's really annoying because it winds up and down, up and down, etc. If it would just stay on it would even be okay.

I'm an artist/designer/inventor and I do some mechanical engineering. I tend to do a lot of research of How To-type information and download lots of pictures, videos and pdf's so I have Firefox open with a lot of tabs open. Often two windows of Firefox. And I have another browser (Green Browser) open mostly so I can check my two email accounts. But I've found some sites don't load in FF and they'll load in GB and vice versa.

I often have a graphics viewing program open (IrfanView) and VLC Media Player. The other program I always run is KeyNote (database) where I keep design ideas, links to materials suppliers, tips I get from Major Geeks, etc.

Per advice from Major Geeks I use Advanced System Care and Smart Defrag to try and keep things optimized.

The other issue is that FireFox starts getting dreadfully slow while the other programs are running quickly. Does anybody know how to resolve this issue? I clear the cache and cookies.

I'd like to get a TV card and record shows from cable. Also, I want to download videos and burn them to DVD.

I've thought about getting a new PC but can't afford it. And the systems I've found under $700.00 are pretty similar to what I've got.

Questions:

Would a graphics card solve the current issues since they seem to revolve around memory allocation?

Any suggestions reqarding the type of card and where to buy it? I never play video games, so that's not deciding factor.

Is my system powerful enough to run a TV Card/DVR?