wth is wrong with my memory

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by JAntelmoBV, Jan 2, 2006.

1. JAntelmoBV

JAntelmoBV Private E-2

Hi guys this is my 3 thread in this day sorry about that lol
    anyways i was chekin my memory n there was this big thing that made me mad with my cpu sell man ....i was suposed to have 256 of memory ram installed but somehow the progrfam i run only can detet about 224 ram .....is there a way i can activate the other32 ram left or missin ................please help im new at this n have pacience with me ...

thank u

oh here is my memory results
    http://www.pcpitstop.com/pcpitstop/Memory.asp

help!!

2. DavidGP

DavidGP MajorGeeks Forum Administrator - Grand Pooh-Bah Staff Member

The other 32mb of ram is used by your VIA S3G Unichrome IGP as it is a on board graphic solution it shares its memory ( Ram ) from the system ram.

and can you gain 256mb system ram back, no as then you have no graphics!

Is your PC a laptop? if yes, best bet is to see your sales man and see if another 256mb or more can be fitted.

3. JAntelmoBV

JAntelmoBV Private E-2

its not a laptop is a home fashion computer............

so theres nothin i can do it about it??

4. JAntelmoBV

JAntelmoBV Private E-2

by the way thank u so much for u help halo n im still very very sorry about the illegal downloadin ,,,but thank u really.

5. DavidGP

Yes you can add if the motherboard allows ( need full system specs, including type, model and make of motherboard ) a full graphic card with its own memory, thus freeing up the system ram as it disables the need for the onboard graphics.

or you can add more system ram and if your using windows XP it would be a wise solution to do that anyway as XP doesnt run too good with less that 512mb of system ram, but with onboard GFX, that you leave you with 480mb system ram.

but as its stands now.. no you need the 32mb used to run the graphics card.