MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-07, 13:45
davep1553 davep1553 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default workgroup switch vs. plain switch

What is the difference between a workgroup switch and just a simple switch?

I'd assumed it was just a naming thing but then I saw a 5-port switch and 5-port workgroup switch from the same company so...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-09-07, 14:12
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,518
Thanks: 147
Thanked 281 Times in 240 Posts
Default Re: workgroup switch vs. plain switch

A switch is pretty much the same as anyother switch, now perhaps one was labeled a hub? A hub is a "dumb" device that sends any packets that come in to all ports on the device, where a switch "smart" device will route it to the proper ethernet port. But also by workgroup they may mean the device is designed to be stacked with other similar devices, ie have some sort of groove or special stacking method.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-07, 14:58
davep1553 davep1553 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: workgroup switch vs. plain switch

I did know about hubs vs switch, but the bit about being stackable makes sense though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-09-07, 15:48
cat5e cat5e is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default Re: workgroup switch vs. plain switch

Some Brands has ti tendency to use terms promoted by Marketing people rather then using strict technological term.

As concern entry level their is to kind of Switches. Regular "Dumb: switches that you connect the network device too and there is nothing to set or use on the switch itself.

Alternatively, managed switches that can be accesses and set to intervene with Network's Traffic.

Therefore, read the data sheet of the switch and decide whether it is regular switch or managed switch.

One hint. Managed switches cost few times more than regular switches.
__________________
Jack (MS, MVP-Networking).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reset Switch <--> Power Switch Kanstar Hardware 2 04-27-06 16:03
Router vs Switch vs Hub with switch eXtenzz Hardware 3 01-25-06 18:43
KVM Switch MBlock Hardware 9 04-08-05 18:05
To switch or not to switch clemmo Software 16 12-06-04 10:36
What Switch to use? edgej40 Hardware 0 07-22-04 08:16


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:45.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger