MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-16-03, 14:02
acejones's Avatar
acejones acejones is offline
A Different Title
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default print troubles

Our print server is NT 4 sp 6. We have 3 RICOH Aficio 350e printers. Whats happening is the printers won't always print. The queue shows the print jobs with an Printer busy error. So what I do is go to the printer, pull the network cable, pull the power cable, put the network cable back in, and put the power cable back in. Then I wait a few minutes and it prints a network config sheet. Then a user can print again. It doesn't happen to all 3 printers at once. In fact, one of the printers hardly ever goes down, while one is almost always not printing and the is every now and then. The printer guy says he can't find anything wrong with the printers, but sometimes we don't have any problems. Is there a way I can find out whats causing our printers to not print?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-16-03, 09:51
King King is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 99
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had a client with the exact same problem with a 350e. I had a HP JetDirect 170x external print server with me so I set it up on that instead of the internal one. It worked great for a month and they ended up buying it. It might be the same type of problem, if you have a external JetDirect, or a router with a built-in print server, you might want to give it a try on your most problematic printer and see how it does. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-17-03, 20:20
Draith's Avatar
Draith Draith is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Boston - NYC
Posts: 88
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hey guys.

actually, this happens with me too. We have a d-link wireless router/print server. the printer connected to it is itself an HP Officejet G55 (still with a direct connection to another computer). If the printer's been on for a while, someone trying to access it from the print server needs to turn the printer off and on again before their document will print.

I wonder if this has anything to do with your problem as well. I've just learned to cope with it, but i don't like doing that sort of thing...

o Draith
__________________
O>===-----------------( "We have met the enemy and he is us" )----------------===<O
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-20-03, 11:01
acejones's Avatar
acejones acejones is offline
A Different Title
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

well, i've coped with it for over 2 years now, and I hate it. we've called service techs to come look at them, and they say there is nothing wrong with the printers. bad thing for me is I believe them. so that means there is something wrong somewhere on our network, and I don't want to go hunt it down. oh well.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-20-03, 13:54
goldfish's Avatar
goldfish goldfish is offline
Lt. Sushi.DC
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 7,137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

how are the printers set up, they got built in print server in them?
you tried using an external or plug it into a computer instead?

EDIT : okay they said that already, so what!
__________________
(`._.[ G|Fh ]._.) Folding@Geeks, TEAM 12072 http://www.majorgeeks.com/page.php?id=9
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 05-21-03, 11:38
acejones's Avatar
acejones acejones is offline
A Different Title
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 1,468
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

they are networked printers. they were setup before I started here, but I think they run straight to one of the switches. they are installed on one of our servers. so when I setup the printer on the computer, it will print fine. but after a while, it quits printing, like the network settings time-out on the printer and need to be reset. but the printer tech support guy says there is nothing wrong with the printer(s).

we have 3 of these:
http://www.ricoh-usa.com//productsho.../index.asp?usa
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:49.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger