MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-28-08, 13:39
Mac2118 Mac2118 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default IP address "conflicts"

We've been having a few problems recently with a wireless connection and our firewall.

When our VP comes into the office, his laptop picks up the wireless address 192.168.1.3. I'm happy that he can pick up a wireless connection and get an IP address..... but 192.168.1.3 is the address of the firewall of the company.

Our DHCP scope is set at 192.168.1.140 - 192.168.1.240

The only way I can think of why this happens is when he as at home he gets the 192.168.1.3 address from his wireless router, then he brings it in here, the DHCP server sees his laptop as the Gateway, and no Internet traffic goes in and out because of it. I asked him if he shuts down his computer when he brings it back and forth and he said that he does.

How is this happening that the wireless connection still keeps that address moving inbetween domains? Is there a solution to this problem?

The only ones I can think of are:
A. Reconfiguring his wireless router at home to 192.168.2.x
B. Giving him a static IP
C. Beating my head off of my desk

I've talked to 2 consulting companies, and Cisco themselves and no one can figure out why this is happening or how to keep it from happening.

Sure I have come up with 2 very simple solutions, but it shouldn't be like this in the first place. My wireless network at home is 192.168.1.x. I have no problems with my laptop, or my iPhone with their addresses and coming into the office.

Any ideas? I would really appreciate some help on this.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 04-29-08, 07:54
foogoo's Avatar
foogoo foogoo is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 2,384
Thanks: 1
Thanked 244 Times in 225 Posts
Default Re: IP address "conflicts"

He doesn't have that address static does he?
The WAP isn't doing DHCP is it?
What does the rest of his IPconfig look like? Does it have your DNS, gateway, etc? or is it his settings from 'home'?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-29-08, 09:22
Mac2118 Mac2118 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP address "conflicts"

he does not have a static IP, that was the first thing I checked. I looked over all of the WAP's and none of them are doing DHCP. only our DHCP server gives out addresses.

it's not everyday that this happens with his laptop. but it has been happening about once a week lately. the last time this happened (yesterday morning) it was keeping all of the settings from his home.

it's just not flushing out all of the settings when he disconnects/shutsdown.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-08, 12:30
Mac2118 Mac2118 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP address "conflicts"

Does anyone have any ideas? This happened again this morning.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-08, 15:09
Unbanable Unbanable is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 341
Thanks: 3
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default Re: IP address "conflicts"

Have you tried doing a simple release and renew?

Go to the command prompt, type ipconfig /release and then, once it's released and shows all 0's, type ipconfig /renew.

At the computer store that I work at computers that connect wirelessly often pick up a "wrong" ip address just because of the way the network is set up. Apparently whoever set it up, did so incorrectly, and sometimes computers that connect wirelessly will pick up an IP from the wrong DHCP server, or something like that.

Might or might not work, but it only takes a few seconds to try.

Edit: and I seriously doubt this is the case, and it might not even make a difference, but his home network and the network at the office don't have the same name do they?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 05-06-08, 15:36
Mac2118 Mac2118 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 11
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: IP address "conflicts"

no, our wireless at the office is ASMWLAN and his home is Home.

he doesn't "need" his wireless in the office since he docks his laptop on his desk connected with ethernet cable.

the /release /renew does work, but it doesn't solve the problem. his computer still carries his wireless ip address 10 miles from his house to the office.

edit: I just realized after typing this that he does not use Windows built in program to connect to a wireless network, he uses Intel or something. Maybe he has that setup to get that address. he doesn't have a static IP address either. I'll have to play with his computer tomorrow and figure out some stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-08, 16:55
lbmest's Avatar
lbmest lbmest is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 1,968
Thanks: 103
Thanked 271 Times in 248 Posts
Default Re: IP address "conflicts"

How about this -
http://www.ezlan.net/metrics.html
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-08, 17:09
Unbanable Unbanable is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 341
Thanks: 3
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default Re: IP address "conflicts"

Ok, so the problem is not that you can't get it to work, the problem is just that you can't get it to work completely automatically? Well, you could always switch it over from using that utility to using Windows and then simply configure Windows to work correctly. I know nothing abuot that utility though. You could try playing with it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewall "stealth mode"/ hide address? Port-O-San Hardware 4 04-30-07 15:11
" Transferring address book and some word doc.files using Thumb Drive? " rgarr Software 1 08-15-06 15:27
"aquiring network address" broadband connection problem teejay11 Hardware 6 10-10-05 18:00
"Accuiring network address" is XP SP2 on a wireless connection goldfish Software 13 01-22-05 23:03


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 13:48.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger