MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-08-10, 17:47
longbowrocks longbowrocks is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Cannot enter IP address directly into browser

Heya all,
I've been trying to use my host file to do things like making www.apple.com redirect to the Microsoft support forums, and other such silliness.
The problem is, many sites don't work. By this I mean that I can ping the site, but when I enter the resulting address into my browser (IE, Firefox, or Chrome) I receive the following error: "The URL you have requested does not have a web site associated with it". This happens with all three of the above browsers when I try to enter the IP addresses for lauriemcguinness.com or
www.apple.com. The IPs for google.com and xkcd.com work fine. Also, microsoft timed out on the ping, but I discovered that's apparently just 'cause they block pings.
You may want to see the actual error, so I attached a pic.

I am using Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition Version 2002 service pack 3
Attached Images
File Type: bmp danger_will_robinson_monochrome.bmp (37.8 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-14-10, 15:48
longbowrocks longbowrocks is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: Cannot enter IP address directly into browser

Now I'm back at school, and it apple.com works, but lauriemcguinness still doesn't. Also, after I did a pathping on www.apple.com, all pings to "www.apple.com" redirect to its host. pings on "apple.com" still work though...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-15-10, 08:53
KingSteve's Avatar
KingSteve KingSteve is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 1,754
Thanks: 34
Thanked 152 Times in 150 Posts
Default Re: Cannot enter IP address directly into browser

Are you flushing dns after you edit host file?
__________________
Internet is neat!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-02-10, 22:48
longbowrocks longbowrocks is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 44
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: Cannot enter IP address directly into browser

yeah, I tried flushing it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot get IE to open directly Grandma Beth Software 3 07-06-08 16:09
unknown web address within FireFox browser Oooops! Software 15 04-14-07 04:31
Burn a label directly on a CD/DVD Just Playin The Lounge 3 02-21-05 19:55
how to hook up fan directly to mobo czkjyg Hardware 8 10-18-04 05:41
favorites directly above address bar? darkhorizon Software 4 06-12-03 18:04


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:45.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger