MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-07-04, 00:29
spaz's Avatar
spaz spaz is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Subwoofer quandry - I should know this..

Hey all...

This is not as PC specific as most issues here, but I know that there is a ton of knowledge floating around here...

I picked up a JBL subwoofer from ebay as I wanted to try to improve the punch a little on my system. Currently have a Monsoon MM700 speaker set, but I changed out the satellites for a pair of Polk Audio bookshelf speakers that I mounted about 8feet up the walls. ANYway, the Monsoon subwoofer has a line in and separate +/- outputs for each satellite on the sub. The JBL sub, however, only has a single line in and single line out. These take the small stereo jacks. Looking at the JBL manual, it is expecting good old fashioned pc speakers which have one connecting to the other and one connected to the audio source.

So, I tried splicing RCA jacks to the speakers and fashioning a split adapter with RCAs from the sub output, but got no sound at all. The sub works as I was able to connect it to the line out from the sound card and get bass... but still no way to connect the satellites.

Anyone come across this problem or have an idea? Thanks in advance.
__________________
sp/\z

"Clever got me this far, then tricky got me in..." - Maynard James Keenan
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-07-04, 12:05
goldfish's Avatar
goldfish goldfish is offline
Lt. Sushi.DC
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 7,137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Ok, so sounds like the old sub had an amp in it as well, which drives the speakers. The new sub sounds like its got an amp for itself, but not for any other speakers. What you'll need to do is connect your line out to the sub, then out of the sub into the old sub, and then that will drive the speakers. Unfortunatley, this means you've got 2 subs running, so you may want to turn down the old one if you can.
But if you have a "Sub out" jack on your sound card, which some newer ones do, you can plug that into the sub and have a normal out going to the old sub which drives the sats.

Hope that helps
__________________
(`._.[ G|Fh ]._.) Folding@Geeks, TEAM 12072 http://www.majorgeeks.com/page.php?id=9
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-07-04, 14:16
spaz's Avatar
spaz spaz is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a bunch for your help. I did try the config running through the new sub to the old sub and out to the sats, but only got output from one side.

I have a new audigy 2 card (sorry I didn't include that in orig post) and tried connecting the new one up, but no sound.

Truth is that the old one sounds fine... and I compared the two by just running the output to the subs one at a time and it's punchier then the JBL. I think I'll use the new one for "scientific experiements." Muahahaa...

Have a great weekend!
__________________
sp/\z

"Clever got me this far, then tricky got me in..." - Maynard James Keenan
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-07-04, 14:44
goldfish's Avatar
goldfish goldfish is offline
Lt. Sushi.DC
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 7,137
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

You too!

I like the sound of scientific experiments Try taping it to a table and see what you can make vibrate across it. You could have coin races!
__________________
(`._.[ G|Fh ]._.) Folding@Geeks, TEAM 12072 http://www.majorgeeks.com/page.php?id=9
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-07-04, 14:56
spaz's Avatar
spaz spaz is offline
Specialist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 361
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hehe...
Well, I was thinking I'd open that sucker up and pull out the amp and maybe build a speaker box out of a couple of speakers I have laying around. Mabye it'll be useful, yet!
__________________
sp/\z

"Clever got me this far, then tricky got me in..." - Maynard James Keenan
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 05-07-04, 22:04
ASUS's Avatar
ASUS ASUS is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: EARTH
Posts: 3,584
Thanks: 0
Thanked 69 Times in 61 Posts
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by spaz
I think I'll use the new one for "scientific experiements." Muahahaa...
Just had sick thought
Buy another
then! you could make.
HEADPHONES
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger