MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-20-05, 17:30
SammaeL SammaeL is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Compaq Presario help.....

I have an older Compaq Presario 7478 that was given to me by my mother.It's been through Hell.I'd like to do a complete system restore on it but she no longer has the original discs and tracking down alternates been a dead end so far.

My question is,could I wipe the entire harddrive and just install Windows 98,the original operating system or do I need the original Compaq discs?

I just want this computer for internet access,pics,and vids.Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 10-20-05, 17:56
Prophets21's Avatar
Prophets21 Prophets21 is offline
Staff Sergeant
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 553
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Compaq Presario help.....

You will be able to do that. The original Compaq discs only contain drivers and such. You can get those drivers from the Compaq website once you have installed Windows and set up your internet.

This may help; http://forums.viaarena.com/messagevi...&enterthread=y
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-20-05, 21:17
PokeyBoy PokeyBoy is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: Compaq Presario help.....

I have had mixed results when I have installed Win 98, for lack of the appropriate "Recovery Disc", for a particular model of computer. Win 98 usually doesn't have all of the drivers you will need and sometimes it can be a real bugger to find them.

Just recently I ran into a problem with a Compaq Presario 5190. The HP/Compaq website did not have the correct drivers for the original modem that came in the computer. For the modem to work it also needed something called a rockwell pci modem enumerator. I spent way too many hours on that thing.

To be on the safe side, I will swap out the original hard drive with a spare of my own. Then install Win 98 and verify that I have or can find all drivers that are required. If all goes well, then it should be safe to wipe out the original HD and start from scratch.

Good luck
Doug
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-20-05, 22:18
brownizs's Avatar
brownizs brownizs is online now
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 3,566
Thanks: 166
Thanked 335 Times in 319 Posts
Default Re: Compaq Presario help.....

How much memory is on this computer Sammael? It will run WinXP, or even Win2k. As for the drivers, All of them are available http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/s...94&cc=us&os=20. As for the OP, the modem driver for the 5190 is http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/s...27&cc=us&os=20. So unless the modem was not the one that came with it Pokeyboy, it is very easy to find any driver on Compaq/HP's website.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-21-05, 15:47
PokeyBoy PokeyBoy is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 68
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Re: Compaq Presario help.....

Thanks for the help brownizs. Generally, I've had pretty good luck with the HP/Compaq driver downloads.

I had previously tried the modem drivers from the link you suggested. The drivers were for a similiar modem but did not work. I know the modem is the original factory installed part. The "tamper seal" was still intact on the case.

I think I have found what I need but haven't had a chance to try them. Working on this computer has been mostly an academic exercise anyway. The computer worked OK, just too slow. I though maybe a fresh install would speed thing up.

Sorry this has drifted from the original posting.

Doug
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 10-21-05, 16:01
brownizs's Avatar
brownizs brownizs is online now
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Central IL.
Posts: 3,566
Thanks: 166
Thanked 335 Times in 319 Posts
Default Re: Compaq Presario help.....

It could be that you are used to working with a faster computer, and going back to a slower machine defintely will show. You can start by upgrading the hard drive to a faster unit, along with bringing the memory up to the max of 512mb, which will help.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger