MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-25-06, 07:39
eXtenzz eXtenzz is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 8
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question Router vs Switch vs Hub with switch

1.Connecting two Pc's to a 100 Mbps Router, both Pc's will have a maximum traffic speed of 50 Mbps. Correct?
2.Connecting the same Pc's to a 100 Mbps Switch, both Pc's will have a maximum traffic speed of 100 Mbps. Correct?
3.If you connect the same Pc's to a 100 Mbps Router with built in Switch, what will be the maximum traffic speed on both Pc's?
4.Is a router the same as a hub?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 01-25-06, 08:35
foogoo's Avatar
foogoo foogoo is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: SW Ohio
Posts: 2,479
Thanks: 1
Thanked 263 Times in 240 Posts
Default Re: Router vs Switch vs Hub with switch

"collision domain is a group of Ethernet or fast Ethernet devices that are directly connected by repeaters or hubs. At any time only one node/device may transmit inside of this collision domain. Repeaters and hubs are physical layer devices and do not understand Ethernet frames or protocols. Their role is to simply extend distance and to facilitate star topology. All nodes/devices that share an Ethernet or fast Ethernet LAN using the CSMA/CD rules are part of the same collision domain or, in other words, all the nodes/devices that are connected to a hub are part of the same collision domain. So, when a collision occurs in a collision domain, everyone in that domain gets affected.
A switch on the other hand is not a repeater but actually a bridge, which acts upon the content of the Ethernet frame it receives and forwards the frame to the appropriate port on the switch. Switches break the network into multiple collision domains and hence simplify the expansion rules by avoiding the collision domain restrictions."

Basically a switch cuts down on traffic - hub are 'dumb' devices - unmanaged. The switch forwards traffic instead of broadcasting it - cutting down on collisions.

"A router determines the next network point to which a packet should be forwarded toward its destination. The router is connected to at least two networks and decides which way to send each information packet based on its current understanding of the state of the networks it is connected to. A router is located at any gateway (where one network meets another), including each point-of-presence on the Internet. "

The easiest way my teacher explained it is "routers define networks".

So if your router has a switch built in your PCs will get the full bandwidth.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-25-06, 10:49
Adrynalyne's Avatar
Adrynalyne Adrynalyne is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: On the Internet
Posts: 18,995
Thanks: 505
Thanked 1,085 Times in 731 Posts
Default Re: Router vs Switch vs Hub with switch

1.Connecting two Pc's to a 100 Mbps Router, both Pc's will have a maximum traffic speed of 50 Mbps. Correct? No. They will have a maximum throughput of 100Mbps. Each port has dedicated bandwidth.

2.Connecting the same Pc's to a 100 Mbps Switch, both Pc's will have a maximum traffic speed of 100 Mbps. Correct? Yes.

3.If you connect the same Pc's to a 100 Mbps Router with built in Switch, what will be the maximum traffic speed on both Pc's? Most(if not all) routers on the market have built in switches. Incidentally, 99% of the people out there don't use routers as routers, but they use them as switches with DHCP.


4.Is a router the same as a hub?

No. A passive hub basically passes the data onto other machines. An active hub will actually amplify the signal as it passes through.

Most hubs these days have switches built in.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-25-06, 18:43
cat5e cat5e is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,614
Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Default Re: Router vs Switch vs Hub with switch

First terms.

A Router has nothing to do with a Switch or a Hub.

Cable/DSL Routers are a combo unit that Routes the Internet and includes four port switch. If you plug the computer to a Router, you actually plug them to a Switch. The Router function is inside between the Modem and the Switch.

While most of the notions about the theory concerning Hubs and Switches as mention above are correct, they functionally apply to large Heavy traffic Network.

You would not find any difference what so ever between a hub and a switch on a Network that comprised of less than 10 computers.

:D
__________________
Jack (MS, MVP-Networking).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:55.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger