MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-17-07, 13:54
mcduke mcduke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Setup dual boot, but both os ended up on same partition?? Still get choice at boot up

I wanted to do a dual boot up for win98se and w2k. Found instructions online to do it and when it came time to setup the partition for w2k I could not make another partition for w2k. So , I ended up putting on the same partition as win98se. When I boot up I do the the choice of which os to boot to, and have no problem getting into win98se or w2k. But, shouldn' win98se and w2k be in separate partitions?? If so, then how to I do that now?? Do I have to stasrt from scratch??
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 08-17-07, 15:26
sach2's Avatar
sach2 sach2 is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7,584
Thanks: 604
Thanked 1,801 Times in 1,718 Posts
Default Re: Setup dual boot, but both os ended up on same partition?? Still get choice at boo

As far as I know Win2k is unique in that it will allow a second version of Windows on the same partition. I think you're good just like it is.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-17-07, 16:17
baklogic's Avatar
baklogic baklogic is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hampshire, uk
Posts: 3,377
Thanks: 28
Thanked 162 Times in 152 Posts
Default Re: Setup dual boot, but both os ended up on same partition?? Still get choice at boo

Two Windows will work on the same partition, but, problems can occur when trying to install programs, as to the file systems.
I only ever made that mistake once, and a long time ago - My advice --START AGAIN.
with 98se on first , install a patition manager like freeware
http://www.majorgeeks.com/Partition_Logic_d4780.html
or, partition magic, (not free), cutepartition manager, is another one.
Partition magic is very good.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-17-07, 17:10
studiot's Avatar
studiot studiot is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Somerset UK
Posts: 4,188
Thanks: 4
Thanked 125 Times in 119 Posts
Default Re: Setup dual boot, but both os ended up on same partition?? Still get choice at boo

C'mon chaps
Windows 98 is a FAT operating system only.
Windows 2000 is NTFS, Native, although it (and XP) will run on FAT.

That is why you would expect to find them of different partitions.

mcduke you must have formatted the partition as FAT and therefore will find that W2K will not do some of the stuff such as encryption that comes with NTFS.

The good news is that you followed the rule 'oldest first' so it worked OK for you.

You can also have more than one copy of the same version of windows on a single partition - this is one method of repairing partitions when you can't boot.

I would guess that you couldn't create a w2k partition when you came to install because you had used all the disk when you installed w98.
__________________
'If it ain't broke'
Fix it until it is'
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-18-07, 04:11
baklogic's Avatar
baklogic baklogic is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hampshire, uk
Posts: 3,377
Thanks: 28
Thanked 162 Times in 152 Posts
Default Re: Setup dual boot, but both os ended up on same partition?? Still get choice at boo

Quote:
Originally Posted by studiot View Post
C'mon chaps
Windows 98 is a FAT operating system only.
Windows 2000 is NTFS, Native, although it (and XP) will run on FAT.

That is why you would expect to find them of different partitions.

mcduke you must have formatted the partition as FAT and therefore will find that W2K will not do some of the stuff such as encryption that comes with NTFS.

The good news is that you followed the rule 'oldest first' so it worked OK for you.

You can also have more than one copy of the same version of windows on a single partition - this is one method of repairing partitions when you can't boot.

I would guess that you couldn't create a w2k partition when you came to install because you had used all the disk when you installed w98.
As Studiot explained, there are uses for this setup, and it will work, because you have 98se on first, and presumably FAT32. - Try it for a while, and decide if you find problems, later.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 08-18-07, 08:40
mcduke mcduke is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 150
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Setup dual boot, but both os ended up on same partition?? Still get choice at boo

Then I'll try it for awhile as it is. When I loaded w2k, the instructions I was following said that I would get an opportunity, during that setup, to make a second partition for w2k to load into. But it never gave me that choice. So, I just loaded w2k anyway and ended up with this weird dual boot on same partition system. I did format the drive for fat32 so I could use win98se. I had some flight sims (combat sim 2, mig alley, free space 2) programs I wanted to use with the attack throttle, elite rudder pedals, and topgun joystick that I purchased off of ebay (It's an older set that connects to the game port on the sound card). The drivers that came with it are for win95, but they work in win98 for it.
The good news is that it all works good under win98se. I managed to take flight and all the different controls work cool. of course i managed to crash acouple of planes first. but, I;m getting the hang of it. Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to setup a dual boot "Vista & Gentoo" install Omnipotent_idiot Software 3 06-16-07 10:21
Partition for dual boot EADGBE Hardware 6 04-16-07 17:51
Best Practice (?): HD reformat and dual boot setup radiot Software 0 03-31-07 20:28
Drive Image 7 & Partition Magic to make dual boot XP colossal Software 0 09-02-06 06:22
How To Partition for Dual Boot with Vista ? mike2op Software 7 01-13-06 00:54


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 22:33.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger