MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-16-08, 19:01
jmurray jmurray is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Angry SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC got removed

I, too, deleted my audio by accident on my Gateway notebook MP6954. I've tried per above instructions to restore, but nothing is there. I've got the Everest report, but don't see Advanced in the Reply box to follow those steps and get more help! Probably goes without saying that I don't have the original disk with me, or I would have already fixed this. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 09-16-08, 19:07
jmurray jmurray is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: My SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC got removed

Ah, got it. Here is the uploaded report.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Everest Report.txt (211.0 KB, 5 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 09-16-08, 19:36
musksnipe
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default Re: My SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC got removed

It looks like your chipset is OK, but install the driver to be sure:
D00456-001-001.exe - Gateway Intel Chipset Driver Revision: 6V 7.2.2.1006
Then install your audio driver:
D00502-002-001.exe - Audio Driver Version: 5.10.4889.0

Do a full shutdown after installing the sound, then restart.
Check your sound.
If it is still missing, uninstall your audio again, through Add/Remove Programs.
Then install the MS UAA Bus driver (KB888111):
HD_Audio/kb888111xpsp2.exe
Restart and then install your audio again.
Shutdown again and restart, you should have sound.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-19-08, 21:51
jmurray jmurray is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC got removed

When I load the chip diver, I get this message: ''Cannot copy file: cannot read from source file or disk" then if I continue it acts like it downloaded it and is finished.
Tried to load the audio driver anyway, and apparently I had already done so when I went to Gateway to find driver. Turned off and on.
Still no sound.
Tried your alternate plan. Wasn't sure what to delete in Add/Remove programs. Only thing on there that mentioned audio is the K8888111, but that seems to be the same thing you want me to load. Delete it or am I looking for something else in the program list?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-19-08, 22:45
dlb's Avatar
dlb dlb is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8,568
Thanks: 422
Thanked 868 Times in 738 Posts
Default Re: SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC got removed

Welcome to Major Geeks!
You're sure there's nothing with 'Sigmatel' in the name in the Add/Remove list? If there is something, remove it.
This is a brand new SigmaTel HD driver from Gateway. It was just released on Sept 17.
http://support.gateway.com/support/d...&uid=208881633
Before installing it, use these chipset drivers from Intel:
http://downloadmirror.intel.com/1602...inst_autol.exe
I have found that the Gateway site has wrong drivers (or non-working drivers) fairly often, so it's best to try to find one from the chip manufacturer if Gateway's drivers don't work....
Good luck! Let us know how it goes!

If none of this works, please post exactly what it shows in the Device Manager under Sound, Video, and Game Controllers....
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 09-20-08, 08:37
jmurray jmurray is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC got removed

Houston, we have sound! Many thanks to you and Musksnipe. jmurray
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-24-08, 13:35
jmurray jmurray is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC got removed

I'm back.
The sound came on and I had one blissful night of uninterrupted sound. Since then, the computer locks up a few minutes into using it. We turn it off and on, and it locks up again. I don't think this has anything to do with the sound driver, but I'm mentioning it here just in case. If not, I'll refer the problem to Hardware.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC got removed [Addie] addie Software 2 08-21-08 12:30
My SigmaTel High Definition Audio CODEC got removed Bobthegeek Software 13 07-29-08 12:06
audio device high definition bus problems Leehela7 Software 3 06-23-08 17:31
Audio device on high definition audio bus problem LTJessee Software 39 06-10-08 06:37
accidentally removed my Realtek High Definition Audio driver zoloftgranny Software 14 01-15-08 20:36


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:21.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger