MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-14-10, 12:32
risingTide's Avatar
risingTide risingTide is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western PA
Posts: 62
Thanks: 18
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Audio Output: SPDIF for a new monitor?

Greetings.

I'm spec-ing out a new monitor...and I think I have it narrowed down to two choices. Both have HDMI/DVD-D/D-Sub connections and integrated speakers (which I know are probably crap and I'd have to disable and bypass).

However, one has Audio Output: SPDIF and the other does not. What would one use that for?? Is that the only way to get around the monitor's integrated speakers and use other speakers?

Many thanks!
__________________
Seek.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-14-10, 13:58
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 14,306
Thanks: 204
Thanked 2,598 Times in 2,406 Posts
Default Re: Audio Output: SPDIF for a new monitor?

Here's what I found on SPDIF, which until you posted, I'd never heard of. (All my systems are old and last century!)
http://www.topbits.com/spdif.html
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc lubuntu 14.04
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-15-10, 09:04
Digerati's Avatar
Digerati Digerati is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,844
Thanks: 6
Thanked 360 Times in 322 Posts
Default Re: Audio Output: SPDIF for a new monitor?

SPDIF has been around since the early 80s - since the beginnings of CDs.

Quote:
Is that the only way to get around the monitor's integrated speakers and use other speakers?
Unfortunately, you did not tell us anything about your current hardware, specifically your current graphics solution and that is critical to give to a complete answer. We need to know your current audio solution too.

Understand that most computers output audio via a sound card (or on-board sound). But with the introduction of HDMI connections on monitors and graphics cards (and on-board too), and with some monitors having built in speakers, the capability is there to have a single HDMI cable carry both video and audio to the monitor - IF that is supported by the computer's current graphics solution.

Understand too that there is no difference in the digital video carried by HDMI and DVI. The ONLY difference is HDMI also has the capability to carry 5.1 audio. That does not mean it does carry audio. In fact, for most computers, it does not because that is carried via the sound card where the audio is fed to the sound card's output connections used to feed standard computer speakers.

Note that HDMI is migrating to computers from the home theater world. And since TV makers are making computer monitors, and more and more computers are used in HT environments, and the video data signal is exactly the same as DVI, and HDMI connectors are smaller, it makes no sense to support two connection formats. So DVI is fading out, causing these confusions over getting audio to the speakers.

Since monitor speakers will NEVER offer full range audio, that monitor is (conveniently - well, you are paying for it) offering a method to take the digital audio from the HDMI and feeding it via SPDIF to an external amplifier and speakers. But in order for that to happen, the audio must first get to your graphics card and that is NOT going to happen unless you manually connect the audio to the graphics card internally.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
MS MVP, Windows Expert-IT Pro 2007-2014
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:
risingTide (06-15-10)
  #4  
Old 06-15-10, 09:26
risingTide's Avatar
risingTide risingTide is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western PA
Posts: 62
Thanks: 18
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Audio Output: SPDIF for a new monitor?

Excellent information.

As far as my current configuration goes...well, its open. That is, I'm rebuilding my machine and am going to buy a new mobo, monitor, and graphics card so I can really do whatever I want. I can't imagine not getting a good enough graphics card to take advantage of all the newest technologies (HDMI, etc.) so let's assume I'm okay there.

Now, what would one use the SPDIF audio output for on the monitor? What is the purpose of having it there?

Thanks!
__________________
Seek.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-15-10, 09:41
Digerati's Avatar
Digerati Digerati is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,844
Thanks: 6
Thanked 360 Times in 322 Posts
Default Re: Audio Output: SPDIF for a new monitor?

Quote:
I can't imagine not getting a good enough graphics card to take advantage of all the newest technologies (HDMI, etc.) so let's assume I'm okay there.
"Good enough" is not the right term. As I noted above, the digital signal is exactly the same with DVI and HDMI so the video will be just as good either way. And since most users don't integrate their PCs into a home theater system, many cards, by design, don't support audio and that is not a sign of quality, one way or another.

Quote:
Now, what would one use the SPDIF audio output for on the monitor? What is the purpose of having it there?
Also noted above,
Quote:
that monitor is (conveniently - well, you are paying for it) offering a method to take the digital audio from the HDMI and feeding it via SPDIF to an external amplifier and speakers.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
MS MVP, Windows Expert-IT Pro 2007-2014
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 06-15-10, 13:01
risingTide's Avatar
risingTide risingTide is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western PA
Posts: 62
Thanks: 18
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Audio Output: SPDIF for a new monitor?

Sorry for my lack of precision in my terminology...I understand what you mean though. Thanks.

Also sorry I didn't read your first post carefully enough. So, this SPDIF out on the monitor is only offering a convenience feature? Not having this SPDIF out wouldn't eliminate me from being able to feed the HDMI digital audio directly from my capable graphics card / sound card to external speakers? Or would it?
__________________
Seek.

Last edited by risingTide; 06-15-10 at 13:09.. Reason: Specified detail with " / sound card"
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-15-10, 13:59
Digerati's Avatar
Digerati Digerati is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,844
Thanks: 6
Thanked 360 Times in 322 Posts
Default Re: Audio Output: SPDIF for a new monitor?

Quote:
So, this SPDIF out on the monitor is only offering a convenience feature?
Yes.

Quote:
Not having this SPDIF out wouldn't eliminate me from being able to feed the HDMI digital audio directly from my capable graphics card / sound card to external speakers? Or would it?
Not at all. In fact, if you are using external speakers, there would be no reason to run audio through your video card. Therefore you would connect your audio just as normally done for years - from the sound card to the speakers (or amplifier that then powers the speakers).
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
MS MVP, Windows Expert-IT Pro 2007-2014
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Digerati For This Useful Post:
risingTide (06-15-10)
  #8  
Old 06-15-10, 14:04
risingTide's Avatar
risingTide risingTide is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Western PA
Posts: 62
Thanks: 18
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Audio Output: SPDIF for a new monitor?

Excellent answer...this is what I was suspecting/hoping for.

Many thanks!
__________________
Seek.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-15-10, 16:10
Digerati's Avatar
Digerati Digerati is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 1,844
Thanks: 6
Thanked 360 Times in 322 Posts
Default Re: Audio Output: SPDIF for a new monitor?

You're welcome.
__________________
Bill (AFE7Ret)
MS MVP, Windows Expert-IT Pro 2007-2014
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
audio output, monitor, monitor speakers, spdif

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No output to monitor on start-up bob3690 Hardware 4 02-06-09 12:32
No Audio Output Device Installed mirack Hardware 13 01-05-09 12:21
New Motherboard - No Audio Output swalsh19 Hardware 6 07-16-07 12:14
How to enable digital audio output (SPDIF) paddygoodlet Software 0 05-21-06 08:32
Add 25Ft audio output augiedoggie Hardware 4 12-13-05 21:32


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger