MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-11-11, 21:27
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default No Internet On main computer

Windows XP Pro comcast cable modem linksys router ,

Hard wired systems not using wyfi ,my main computer got wacked somehow as it was the only computer on at the time thur router another computer works fine which was off at the time.

Problem is since jan 30 2011 i cannot for the life on me get this computer back on line. went through all i kmow how to do and yet windows willnot allow a ip address to get on line. I cannot ping anything and ipconfig willnot show a mac or ip address router is delivering one but windows keeps telling me contact your network person. under repair network willnot conect all other tests pass. proper boxes are checked in devices and comcast as no other advise for4 me. We went thur the deal 4 times together. Plugging cable modem directly into said computer willnot offer any diff. out comes.
Using windows defender but turn off and no other firewall. Did have Noprton but uninstalled it,no changes. Reloaded devices and connections wizARD MANY TIMES no luck. Tried aux network card same deal no luck. Ran malware and regisry software and trojant finder no luck. ip router enabled no wins proxy enabled no net bois over tcpip disabled .
Looked into log and found Failed to load net bios and netBT Tried net bois over tcpip box but that didnot work either. The three devices are in windows/system32/devices afd.sys tcpip.sys net bt.sys I did abunch of other stuff trying to keep a log of what i did. Still pulling the hair out of my head any thoughts or help would be greatly appreciated. Iam a hargware person from dos 3 still have all my junk around 200 baud modem for sale LMAo
how about a big 1 meg harddrive dam aim old. No cherry but this software stuff pulls my hair out. Just no time to read alot. Thanks ahead of time

star393@juno.com www.FriedbergRacing.com Douglas aka Star393
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 02-11-11, 21:35
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by star393 View Post
Windows XP Pro comcast cable modem linksys router ,

Hard wired systems not using wyfi ,my main computer got wacked somehow as it was the only computer on at the time thur router another computer works fine which was off at the time.

Problem is since jan 30 2011 i cannot for the life on me get this computer back on line. went through all i kmow how to do and yet windows willnot allow a ip address to get on line. I cannot ping anything and ipconfig willnot show a mac or ip address router is delivering one but windows keeps telling me contact your network person. under repair network willnot conect all other tests pass. proper boxes are checked in devices and comcast as no other advise for4 me. We went thur the deal 4 times together. Plugging cable modem directly into said computer willnot offer any diff. out comes.
Using windows defender but turn off and no other firewall. Did have Noprton but uninstalled it,no changes. Reloaded devices and connections wizARD MANY TIMES no luck. Tried aux network card same deal no luck. Ran malware and regisry software and trojant finder no luck. ip router enabled no wins proxy enabled no net bois over tcpip disabled .
Looked into log and found Failed to load net bios and netBT Tried net bois over tcpip box but that didnot work either. The three devices are in windows/system32/devices afd.sys tcpip.sys net bt.sys I did abunch of other stuff trying to keep a log of what i did. Still pulling the hair out of my head any thoughts or help would be greatly appreciated. Iam a hargware person from dos 3 still have all my junk around 200 baud modem for sale LMAo
how about a big 1 meg harddrive dam aim old. No cherry but this software stuff pulls my hair out. Just no time to read alot. Thanks ahead of time

star393@juno.com www.FriedbergRacing.com Douglas aka Star393
Also i wanta add that in the begining everytime i clicked on a device in system devices it would disappear. screwy.
  #3  
Old 02-11-11, 21:54
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 807
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Was there something going on weather or electrical at the time? It could be that your network card is damaged. It sounds a lot like it was. It used to happen more often, I had a stash of extras for a while.

You could try a new network card or a wireless one. I like a simple USB wireless, installs quickly, less chance of someone doing something wrong when the case stays closed too.
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
  #4  
Old 02-11-11, 22:15
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by handygal View Post
Was there something going on weather or electrical at the time? It could be that your network card is damaged. It sounds a lot like it was. It used to happen more often, I had a stash of extras for a while.

You could try a new network card or a wireless one. I like a simple USB wireless, installs quickly, less chance of someone doing something wrong when the case stays closed too.
Did that already with installing another network card same deal No electrical problems accurred. Electrical system is protected from computers. And i do have a 11,000 rpm BBC darg Race car
  #5  
Old 02-11-11, 22:34
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

i ran at the run box cmd/k sc qc dhcp and nothing other then black box with documents and settings adm showed up no info . I hate to have to reinstall wins again for the 100th time, i like to know what goes wrong. I guess i like pain.
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 02-11-11, 22:53
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Back in the day when 250 MB hard drives were it i used to take them apart and change the bearings and repair the ribbon on the heads common failure causes, not today hard drives are like old shoes replace em. but still today it pays to pull your covers blow out the dirt from power supply,check the fans and most importantly look at all your capacitors on the mother board, at the tops and see if there expanding from age and just cheap caps. You can replace them before your system IDE goes bad and then your in trouble. There cheap and easy to do if you have some talent. But do watch them and head off problems or just replace your M/B , before your pulling your hair out too.
  #7  
Old 02-12-11, 09:17
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 807
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by star393 View Post

I cannot ping anything and ipconfig willnot show a mac or ip address
Forgive all of the questions, I'm trying to get the picture so I don't ask you things that you've already done.

Do you show a network card in the Device manager (the one in control panel, i'm not good with the file)? Does it show the right model? It's not asking for a driver in the device manager?

When you run ipconfig does it show Ethernet Adapter Network Area Connection and then just no MAC or ip under it or does it not even list that line?

I usually want to know why and how and fix the problem rather than a work around. Sometimes it's not worth my sanity. I'd hit a box store, try a usb wireless as a work around, if it doesn't work you can take it back.

Netbios over tcp/ip does need to be enabled but you tried that and other than that, nothing obvious in the config yet because it seems like maybe it's not even reading the card properly.

I so hate reloading the OS that I've done it only twice. Maybe not smart, but i'll work on a fix for weeks rather than reload. I adminster 50+ computers, surely i've needed to reinstall the OS more than that. Just hearing reformat, install the OS makes me shudder. You'll never get that as a suggestion from me.
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
  #8  
Old 02-12-11, 11:36
lbmest's Avatar
lbmest lbmest is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Northern Shenandoah Valley
Posts: 1,968
Thanks: 103
Thanked 271 Times in 248 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Have you tried resetting TCP/IP?
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
The Following User Says Thank You to lbmest For This Useful Post:
handygal (02-12-11)
  #9  
Old 02-12-11, 12:40
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by handygal View Post
Forgive all of the questions, I'm trying to get the picture so I don't ask you things that you've already done.

Do you show a network card in the Device manager (the one in control panel, i'm not good with the file)? Does it show the right model? It's not asking for a driver in the device manager?

When you run ipconfig does it show Ethernet Adapter Network Area Connection and then just no MAC or ip under it or does it not even list that line?

I usually want to know why and how and fix the problem rather than a work around. Sometimes it's not worth my sanity. I'd hit a box store, try a usb wireless as a work around, if it doesn't work you can take it back.

Netbios over tcp/ip does need to be enabled but you tried that and other than that, nothing obvious in the config yet because it seems like maybe it's not even reading the card properly.

I so hate reloading the OS that I've done it only twice. Maybe not smart, but i'll work on a fix for weeks rather than reload. I adminster 50+ computers, surely i've needed to reinstall the OS more than that. Just hearing reformat, install the OS makes me shudder. You'll never get that as a suggestion from me.
Hello again thanks for repleys

Yes network card is in device manager and correct devices drivers, and is enabled and running. I reloaded it several times and reloaded it in save mode also. Iam not sure if ipconfig shows card ,but ill check later today. Remember i also installed another network card and used that and still had same problems.So i went back to oem on board network adapter.
  #10  
Old 02-12-11, 12:51
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by lbmest View Post
Have you tried resetting TCP/IP?
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
No i did not try that but i will and get back to you. thanks for the link sent to the printer T/Y. Lol maybe with enough time to read all this stuff i might get done reading about windows 3.0 lmao.
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 02-12-11, 18:33
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by lbmest View Post
Have you tried resetting TCP/IP?
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
it seems that i cannot run this command from windows xp professional when i type netsh at command promt it changes dir to it but no info.
  #12  
Old 02-12-11, 18:34
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by handygal View Post
Forgive all of the questions, I'm trying to get the picture so I don't ask you things that you've already done.

Do you show a network card in the Device manager (the one in control panel, i'm not good with the file)? Does it show the right model? It's not asking for a driver in the device manager?

When you run ipconfig does it show Ethernet Adapter Network Area Connection and then just no MAC or ip under it or does it not even list that line?

I usually want to know why and how and fix the problem rather than a work around. Sometimes it's not worth my sanity. I'd hit a box store, try a usb wireless as a work around, if it doesn't work you can take it back.

Netbios over tcp/ip does need to be enabled but you tried that and other than that, nothing obvious in the config yet because it seems like maybe it's not even reading the card properly.

I so hate reloading the OS that I've done it only twice. Maybe not smart, but i'll work on a fix for weeks rather than reload. I adminster 50+ computers, surely i've needed to reinstall the OS more than that. Just hearing reformat, install the OS makes me shudder. You'll never get that as a suggestion from me.


YES the network card is listed in the ipconfig/all command
  #13  
Old 02-12-11, 18:44
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 807
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

I was looking through my settings and amend my previous statemetn, netbios needs to be enabled if you use static ip's. I generally do so that sticks with me.

Are you static or DHCP?

The netbios error in the log concerns me. Is there more info on it? I'd like to make sure that isn't the source. I'd like to try to get my XP machine set the way yorus is and see if the netbios would keep me from connecting. If it is netbios we could focus on that.

Here's my ipconfig /all can you tell my what is different in yours? (if you are static, I'll change mine over)


Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : D444CS
Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcast
IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:
Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom 440x 10/100 Integrated Cont
roller
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1D-09-CB-88-AD

Ethernet adapter Wireless Network Connection:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Dell Wireless 1505 Draft 802.11n WLA
N Mini-Card
Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-1E-4C-2F-36-B8
Dhcp Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.8.22
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.8.1
DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.8.1
DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.8.1
Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Saturday, February 12, 2011 3:06:26
PM
Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Sunday, February 13, 2011 3:06:26 PM
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
  #14  
Old 02-12-11, 19:09
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by star393 View Post
it seems that i cannot run this command from windows xp professional when i type netsh at command promt it changes dir to it but no info.

i cannot find the fix it for me or fix it myself lines but at the command of netsch i did type itnetsh int ip reset resetlog.txt rebooted and no changes hope that was the manual wh\ay of doing it. Bad instructions from MS
  #15  
Old 02-12-11, 20:13
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 807
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

hrlow2 just reminded me in another thread that sometimes it's not the computer, it's the router. I forget that sometimes when other computers are working.

I think some routers have security functions in them that recognize your mac but if other things have changed, they block you thinking you might be spoofed or otherwise compromised. That's my theory, I've never bothered to investigate it. Have you reset your connection all the way from the modem?
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 02-12-11, 20:32
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by handygal View Post
hrlow2 just reminded me in another thread that sometimes it's not the computer, it's the router. I forget that sometimes when other computers are working.

I think some routers have security functions in them that recognize your mac but if other things have changed, they block you thinking you might be spoofed or otherwise compromised. That's my theory, I've never bothered to investigate it. Have you reset your connection all the way from the modem?

i did connect directly to modem bypassing router no luck also my router is giving my computer a ip address.

my ipconfig has no addresses all zeros

ran ipconfig/flushdns no luck there also
i cannot copy my ipconfig and post it like you did just have file how do i send it????????
my ip is DHCP from comcast

also i have error when trying to renew ip address = RPC server is unavailable

I did check router info thats all ok and issuing ip address to my computer but windows willnot allow see your network manager.
  #17  
Old 02-12-11, 20:37
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>c:

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd c:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cdc:
'cdc:' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd/c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>c:

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd c:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd\c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd:c
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd\ c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd/ c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd c:/

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd c:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd/ c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd?
'cd?' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd ?

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd\ c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd/ c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>c:/
'c:/' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>c:\
'c:\' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>help
For more information on a specific command, type HELP command-name
ASSOC Displays or modifies file extension associations.
AT Schedules commands and programs to run on a computer.
ATTRIB Displays or changes file attributes.
BREAK Sets or clears extended CTRL+C checking.
CACLS Displays or modifies access control lists (ACLs) of files.
CALL Calls one batch program from another.
CD Displays the name of or changes the current directory.
CHCP Displays or sets the active code page number.
CHDIR Displays the name of or changes the current directory.
CHKDSK Checks a disk and displays a status report.
CHKNTFS Displays or modifies the checking of disk at boot time.
CLS Clears the screen.
CMD Starts a new instance of the Windows command interpreter.
COLOR Sets the default console foreground and background colors.
COMP Compares the contents of two files or sets of files.
COMPACT Displays or alters the compression of files on NTFS partitions.
CONVERT Converts FAT volumes to NTFS. You cannot convert the
current drive.
COPY Copies one or more files to another location.
DATE Displays or sets the date.
DEL Deletes one or more files.
DIR Displays a list of files and subdirectories in a directory.
DISKCOMP Compares the contents of two floppy disks.
DISKCOPY Copies the contents of one floppy disk to another.
DOSKEY Edits command lines, recalls Windows commands, and creates macros.
ECHO Displays messages, or turns command echoing on or off.
ENDLOCAL Ends localization of environment changes in a batch file.
ERASE Deletes one or more files.
EXIT Quits the CMD.EXE program (command interpreter).
FC Compares two files or sets of files, and displays the differences
between them.
FIND Searches for a text string in a file or files.
FINDSTR Searches for strings in files.
FOR Runs a specified command for each file in a set of files.
FORMAT Formats a disk for use with Windows.
FTYPE Displays or modifies file types used in file extension associations.
GOTO Directs the Windows command interpreter to a labeled line in a
batch program.
GRAFTABL Enables Windows to display an extended character set in graphics
mode.
HELP Provides Help information for Windows commands.
IF Performs conditional processing in batch programs.
LABEL Creates, changes, or deletes the volume label of a disk.
MD Creates a directory.
MKDIR Creates a directory.
MODE Configures a system device.
MORE Displays output one screen at a time.
MOVE Moves one or more files from one directory to another directory.
PATH Displays or sets a search path for executable files.
PAUSE Suspends processing of a batch file and displays a message.
POPD Restores the previous value of the current directory saved by PUSHD.
PRINT Prints a text file.
PROMPT Changes the Windows command prompt.
PUSHD Saves the current directory then changes it.
RD Removes a directory.
RECOVER Recovers readable information from a bad or defective disk.
REM Records comments (remarks) in batch files or CONFIG.SYS.
REN Renames a file or files.
RENAME Renames a file or files.
REPLACE Replaces files.
RMDIR Removes a directory.
SET Displays, sets, or removes Windows environment variables.
SETLOCAL Begins localization of environment changes in a batch file.
SHIFT Shifts the position of replaceable parameters in batch files.
SORT Sorts input.
START Starts a separate window to run a specified program or command.
SUBST Associates a path with a drive letter.
TIME Displays or sets the system time.
TITLE Sets the window title for a CMD.EXE session.
TREE Graphically displays the directory structure of a drive or path.
TYPE Displays the contents of a text file.
VER Displays the Windows version.
VERIFY Tells Windows whether to verify that your files are written
correctly to a disk.
VOL Displays a disk volume label and serial number.
XCOPY Copies files and directory trees.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cdir
'cdir' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>c:

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd /c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd/ c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd/ c
The system cannot find the path specified.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd c:
C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd\ c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>c:/
'c:/' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>c:\
'c:\' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd /c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd\ c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd\c:
The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect.

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator>cd windows

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\WINDOWS>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection 11:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
IP Address. . . . . . . . . . . . : fe80::ffff:ffff:fffd%4
Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . :

C:\Documents and Settings\Administrator\WINDOWS>
  #18  
Old 02-12-11, 20:42
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer


Thanks for working with me
  #19  
Old 02-12-11, 20:44
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,518
Thanks: 147
Thanked 281 Times in 240 Posts
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

what was the netsh qc command supposed to do? Who told you to run that? Google gave me very rough ideas that its used to reset some of the dhcp stuff. netsh winsock reset command only works if its windows xp sp2 or greater. The bigger concern to me is dispearing devices and rpc errors, which indicate a damaged os, I would first recommend your put in your xp cd, and at the run box type, sfc /scannow which stands for system file checker, and start with that. Are programs randomly crashing and stuff or other then the no internet is the system working normaly?
  #20  
Old 02-12-11, 20:54
star393 star393 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Re: No Internet On main computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colemanguy View Post
what was the netsh qc command supposed to do? Who told you to run that? Google gave me very rough ideas that its used to reset some of the dhcp stuff. netsh winsock reset command only works if its windows xp sp2 or greater. The bigger concern to me is dispearing devices and rpc errors, which indicate a damaged os, I would first recommend your put in your xp cd, and at the run box type, sfc /scannow which stands for system file checker, and start with that. Are programs randomly crashing and stuff or other then the no internet is the system working normaly?
netsh microsoft fix it 50199 to reset tcp\ip

that disappearing act has stop after i ran a malware program and registry checker program

computer and programs are all stable and run normal

ill try the scannow is that like the scandisk program?????
ive only been running winxp pro for ayear now clean install


Thanks for repleys
Sponsored links
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing main hosting computer thelostonesway Hardware 4 12-21-09 10:51
Cant connect my main PC to internet Wayne82 Hardware 2 01-20-09 20:29
Wireless internet with Dlink problems? Main computer connected to internet w/ USB... saiyan_girl Hardware 0 10-08-08 15:49
Main internet connection disappeared? WildFire4 Hardware 0 08-06-08 17:56
router and main computer lamia8592 Hardware 6 05-18-07 10:39


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger