MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-29-12, 20:34
hrlow2's Avatar
hrlow2 hrlow2 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: hills of West Virginia
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 200
Thanked 548 Times in 522 Posts
Default How can I do this?

A friend has brought an Acer Aspire One netbook to me.
Person he had bought it from had removed the hard drive from it for whatever reason. My friend says that he wants me to get it up and running for him if he buys another hard drive.
There is no CD/DVD drive on this tiny thing, so how is an OS installed?
May be simple to some of you, but all my installs have been from a disk and I have NEVER worked on one like this.
__________________
Continuing to learn (hopefully enough)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 03-29-12, 21:56
Spock96's Avatar
Spock96 Spock96 is offline
Major Geek 'Spocky'
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Inside my computer.
Posts: 1,645
Thanks: 266
Thanked 119 Times in 111 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

You could try an external CD/DVD Drive.
My girlfriend has that type of Netbook, and that's how I had to re-install her OS.
__________________
"Life can knock you down keep you there, then kick you in the teeth. But remember this my friends you can ALWAYS stand again."
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Spock96 For This Useful Post:
hrlow2 (03-30-12)
  #3  
Old 03-30-12, 05:31
hrlow2's Avatar
hrlow2 hrlow2 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: hills of West Virginia
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 200
Thanked 548 Times in 522 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

Just what I was afraid of Spock.
Another piece to buy.
__________________
Continuing to learn (hopefully enough)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-30-12, 10:17
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 14,193
Thanks: 200
Thanked 2,584 Times in 2,392 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

You'll be glad you have a portable DVD burner and you'll be surprised that they are not too expensive. I bought one for my two netbooks and paid $30. It has the advantage of working on any desktop (we have some old ones) that don't have a DVD installed or the internal drive stops working and I need to figure out if it is hardware or software.
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc lubuntu 14.04
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to plodr For This Useful Post:
hrlow2 (03-30-12)
  #5  
Old 03-30-12, 10:40
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

You can also install an OS via USB flash drive. But, buying an external DVD would be a good investment.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tgell For This Useful Post:
hrlow2 (03-30-12)
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 03-30-12, 10:54
hrlow2's Avatar
hrlow2 hrlow2 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: hills of West Virginia
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 200
Thanked 548 Times in 522 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

to plodr:
something like this?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Thin-Laptop-...item3cc44665bf
__________________
Continuing to learn (hopefully enough)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-30-12, 12:04
falconattack's Avatar
falconattack falconattack is online now
First Sergeant
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Greece , Athens
Posts: 786
Thanks: 2
Thanked 298 Times in 285 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hrlow2 View Post
A friend has brought an Acer Aspire One netbook to me.
Person he had bought it from had removed the hard drive from it for whatever reason. My friend says that he wants me to get it up and running for him if he buys another hard drive.
There is no CD/DVD drive on this tiny thing, so how is an OS installed?
May be simple to some of you, but all my installs have been from a disk and I have NEVER worked on one like this.
Hi mate , you could follow usb's installation guide

http://www.eeeguides.com/2007/11/ins...usb-thumb.html


it's very easy process !!
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falconattack For This Useful Post:
hrlow2 (03-30-12)
  #8  
Old 03-30-12, 18:30
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 14,193
Thanks: 200
Thanked 2,584 Times in 2,392 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

hrlow2, I don't see an image of the USB connector. You need to be sure it is a Y-connector and uses two USB ports for power.
I bought something like this
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16827106356
Look at the last screenshot so you can see the power cable. It has a connection to the drive then 2 USB connectors.
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc lubuntu 14.04
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 03-30-12, 21:41
hrlow2's Avatar
hrlow2 hrlow2 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: hills of West Virginia
Posts: 5,210
Thanks: 200
Thanked 548 Times in 522 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

2 USB connectors?
Is both needed to operate?
__________________
Continuing to learn (hopefully enough)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 03-30-12, 22:56
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,523
Thanks: 151
Thanked 283 Times in 241 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

Second connector is usually used for more power to the drive. Some people prefer not to have a power brick, but either wouldn't be an issue for your intended use, the brick does become a hassle if you use it mobile or while traveling though.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 03-31-12, 10:15
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 14,193
Thanks: 200
Thanked 2,584 Times in 2,392 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

If it is a portable external then yes, the two USB ports are needed as Colemanguy stated for power. One port doesn't supply enough power.
I have an Aspire 722 and can plug one into a port on the right and the other into the port on the left. My wireless mouse uses the 2nd USB port on the right so when I play DVDs on my netbook using the external drive, all USB ports are full.

If you don't want to do that, you use an internal optical drive, put it into a case (if you can find one) and use a brick. I have two external drives in cases too but they are big and bulky.

The external has to hold a 5.25" internal so an optical drive will fit. They are hard to find.
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc lubuntu 14.04
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 03-31-12, 13:04
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,523
Thanks: 151
Thanked 283 Times in 241 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

They make externals that are powered off of a power brick versus, using a second usb port.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 03-31-12, 20:32
dlb's Avatar
dlb dlb is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 8,568
Thanks: 422
Thanked 868 Times in 738 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

Most 'modern' external USB DVD drives are "bus powered", meaning that you need 2 ports on the PC: one for data, one for power. I looked around a couple weeks back for USB DVD drive that was not bus powered and found nothing.... they were ALL bus powered. Luckily, I have an old Sony external that plugs in to the wall for power. The model number is DRX-S70U if anyone cares. Available at Amazon (used) http://www.amazon.com/Sony-DRXS70U-E.../dp/B001BSM954 - or you can check eBay. I'm pretty sure that Sony doesn't make 'em anymore....

Alternatively, you can create an install USB flash drive for your version of Windows. I did it once a few years ago for WinXP. I don't remember the steps, but I do remember that it took me like 4 tries until I finally 'built' the bootable USB flash drive correctly. A bit of creative Googling should get you the info needed. I've read that Win7 was designed to be a bit easier to install from a flash drive.....
__________________
PhenomII X4 955BE 3.20ghz; 750+320+250HDD; 6gbDDR2; 2xDVDRW; GTX570; 900w PSU; Win7X64
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 03-31-12, 20:44
satrow's Avatar
satrow satrow is online now
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Waimoana
Posts: 5,231
Thanks: 500
Thanked 1,226 Times in 1,109 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

The biggest problem is the bus standards and the hardware actually performing up to those standards. 500mw might not sound much but some USB ports don't supply that much and some drives expect (need) more.

If you can opt for a dual USB connector, do so. I'd rather carry an extra USB 'tail' than a 'brick'.

PS: for dlb: bus powered should mean 1 connection is ample ... this is not always the case and is where the BS/confusion kicks in.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 03-31-12, 20:47
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: How can I do this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlb View Post
Most 'modern' external USB DVD drives are "bus powered", meaning that you need 2 ports on the PC: one for data, one for power. I looked around a couple weeks back for USB DVD drive that was not bus powered and found nothing.... they were ALL bus powered. Luckily, I have an old Sony external that plugs in to the wall for power. The model number is DRX-S70U if anyone cares. Available at Amazon (used) http://www.amazon.com/Sony-DRXS70U-E.../dp/B001BSM954 - or you can check eBay. I'm pretty sure that Sony doesn't make 'em anymore....
I could not believe it when I did a search on newegg. There was only one external DVD drives with the power adapter, everything was a slim version except that one and that did not look anywhere near the quality of the one I have. It looks like the only option is to either buy used as dlb suggested or get an external enclosure that like this.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817145090

Edit; or this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817392021
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:20.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger