MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 05-07-12, 21:12
jeetkunedo jeetkunedo is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 40
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

Tgell,thanks,will work on it,since we can't post links,how do i ask you." do you know of free very good" 'corrupted CAB and ZIP archive' REMOVERS? IT'S BEEN COMING UP ON AVAST SCANS FOR SOMETIME,just don't know how to remove them and immunize (suppose really u can't since they can only be traced postmortem),There's go to be something out there,full reinstall will not prevent this from happening again,don't i know it!
I am so close to having a perfect configuration...
Kind Regards
JKD
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 05-07-12, 21:48
jeetkunedo jeetkunedo is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 40
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

"Before I attach the SMB bus controller driver for you computer please do the following. Right click on the SMB bus controller in Device manager and in the details tab, provide the vendor and device ID as shown. I would not be able to email you the vga driver as that is too big".......
. PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4385&SUBSYS_21821019&REV_13\3&267A616A&0&A0
Regards
JKD
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 05-07-12, 21:50
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

You could delete them offline using a linux distro like puppy.

I would first go to the Malware Removal Forum and after doing the steps in this sticky post, attach your logs to determine if you are infected. After finishing there post back here.

Corrupted zip and cab files could be a sign that your file system is corrupted also. You could try doing a chkdsk /f at a command prompt and then see if you can delete the files. Or, right click the drive in my computer, select properties, select the tools tab, and then select error checking. You will be prompted to restart the computer in order for the check to complete.

Edit: I missed your vendor and Device ID post. I will check to see if the SMB driver is correct and if so attach it.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 05-07-12, 21:57
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

I have attached the SMB chipset driver. Unzip the driver to a folder on your desktop in an admin account. Then Right click the SMB controller in Device Manager and select properties. Under the driver tab select update driver and then browse to the inf file in the folder you unzipped.
Attached Files
File Type: zip SMBUS.zip (5.7 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 05-08-12, 18:25
jeetkunedo jeetkunedo is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 40
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

T,Hi,could you,of course, when you get a chance, chk the zip file you sent me,as when i opened it with free eval*win zip it did not have the driver in it so the attempt of pointing the device to the file had replied as such,when opened there was a smbusati security catalog 8kb and smbusati setup info 2kb.I wonder if it would come with (as in ATI tech)
installation wizard.All the exclamations are gone but when i open the smbus in device manager,it says:No drivers are installed for this device. Regards..JKD
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26  
Old 05-08-12, 18:39
jeetkunedo jeetkunedo is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 40
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

Dear LauraR, could you direct me to/or send the user compliance rules and unintended/intended breach ....etc /so i can get a hang og this forum stuff,ps do they have cross forum chat rooms or whatever where say,Tom's Hardware forum talks to MajorGeeks forum?Trying to get educated!!!
Respectfully Yours
Jeetkunedo
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 05-08-12, 18:48
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

That is a inf file driver. You can update it by doing the following. Uzip the file. It will have a SMBus folder with two files (SMbusati.cat and SMBUSati.inf). Right click the SMB controller with the yellow exclamation mark in Device Manager and then in the Driver tab select update driver and follow the wizard. You want to select the SMBUSati.inf file. Do this in an admin account.

http://www.intel.com/support/graphics/sb/CS-030331.htm
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 05-09-12, 02:34
jeetkunedo jeetkunedo is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 40
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

Did not work,had a look at the SMBUSati.inf file.and on one line is .....
[SourceDisksFiles]
; Files for disk ATI Technologies Inc Installation Disk #1 (System)
Disk#1?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 05-09-12, 07:33
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

Does this link work for you?
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 05-10-12, 02:15
jeetkunedo jeetkunedo is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 40
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

Tgell, do you remember when we first began with the chipset? I have been using a free driver updater and if it had updated the chipset to other than the link we began with,instinct tells me that further driver updating based on the chipset would prepropose that the continuity of sorting out the devices was pure , ie one action was based on the previous action and the continuity was not interfered with by a second set of instructions whereby an updater interfered with all your suggestions. What I am suggesting is to return the motherboard to the state, 'other devices' where the 3-4
yellow exclamation marks are returned and the process begun again without the use of the updater?Using restore point. I'd prefer not to do it but i can't find the details of the chipset installed, Please let me know where it is, so I may check it, because I can't see it on devices manager now.And whether my suggestion about system restore is worthy to begin the process again.
Regards
JKD
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #31  
Old 05-10-12, 05:58
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

Sometimes it is not necessary to update the SMBus driver especially if your computer is running okay. How many exclamation marks are left in Device Manger and can you provide the Vendor and Device ID's. If the only driver left is VGA, we can find that one and if it is ATI, it might also fix the Southbridge Problem as some are included in the ATI video package similar to Nvidia.

Sometimes going to a driver scanner causes more problems. If the video driver we try does not solve the problem, then you can try restoring to an earlier time.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 05-10-12, 09:17
jeetkunedo jeetkunedo is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 40
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

Hi,well when i installed the vga thru the free updater i went to the graphics folder on my system and installed it there and in drivers, so the vga was sorted and compatibility set for win2k as winxp was not readily available.It would have run from win95 compat anyway. There are no exclamation marks under other devices and no other devices. However if one goes to device manager/manage and under system devices,motherboard resources (4 instances all the same) no drivers are installed,properties brings up driver provider :microsoft,date:01/07/2001, ver5.1.2600.2180 signed by m.windows component publisher.BUT THERE'S NO DRIVER. run for Chipset_ATI_5.10.1000.6_XPx86 2 and it says it can't find a better one for the one already supposedly installed ie ver5.1.2600.2180.
So i have the vga, ATI catalyst control centre that came with the vga:Driver Packaging Version 8.273-060718a-035157C-Acer
Provider ATI Technologies Inc.
2D Driver Version 6.14.10.6626
2D Driver File Path System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Video\{927183D2-EEFF-499B-9BD9-2DA4F164C72E}\0000
Direct3D Version 6.14.10.0419
OpenGL Version 6.14.10.5949
CATALYST® Control Center Version 1.2.2390.38630
AIW/VIVO WDM Driver Version 6.14.10.6238
AIW/VIVO WDM SP Driver Version 6.14.10.6238
But no ATIbus controller and if you go to it under devices it has no driver installed but remembering there are no longer any exclamation marks for the original problem under other devices, i will have to call nasa.
Further i have Realtek - real nice like the catalyst control center. I am guessing this Acer was issued 2005-2006, and the audio and ATI catalyst that time also. Recall that i updated automatically from a free 3rd party vendor (can't tell you,admin told me the rules of MajorG) that was good going. But this ATIbus will not even load in safemode following all your instructions.The only exclamations i have is the ethernet section, Avast is missing it's own firewall NDIS Filter miniport,four instances of it, wan and another and 2 more trying to set up on the existing working ethernet cards.one on the motherboard another on a separate installed ethernet card, both working but not as firewalled miniports,Funny they did not come up until we began to exchange problem and solution blog.! You asked for the vender and device Id i sent it to you as PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_4385&SUBSYS_21821019&REV_13\3&267A616A&0&A0,
was this not what you required?
P.s could you tell me how to read and understand the above PCI.......where can i go to understand it ?
I will wait for your instructions on what to do now about the ATI SMbus controller.Thanking you in advance....
Regards
JKD
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 05-10-12, 10:13
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: Divers for ACER power F6 Motherboard EC51GM chipset RS400/RC400/RC410

I believe what you are saying is that you only have the ATI Smbus driver that is not working. If you do not notice anything wrong with the computer and it is working properly, I would forget about it, especially if the Chipset driver I linked to from Acer's own site did not work.

The only other option would be to download the latest ATI VGA drivers which should include the SMBus controller but if you do not notice any problems, I would not do it.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to tgell For This Useful Post:
jeetkunedo (05-10-12)
Reply

Tags
acer power f6, motherboard ec51gm

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Chipset causes BSOD Acer Aspire One hitreason Software 2 08-07-10 03:31
ECS RC410-M Chipset Driver help canephalanx Software 14 07-17-10 07:27
Acer Chipset Driver FED UP Software 15 10-11-08 11:28
P4 Motherboard with with NForce chipset??? jude347 Hardware 2 04-26-04 21:46


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright © MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger