MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Hardware
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Hardware Hardware like hard drives, motherboards, video cards, printers, CD-ROMs, etc.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-16-12, 02:22
Storkraft's Avatar
Storkraft Storkraft is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 186
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default new SSD. cant format it

Hi ok so i have bougt a new ocz 120 GB SSD.
and i can find it in bios.

i have disconected all other drives. and it finds it. and i boot with win7 disk.
and some itmes it finds the drive. and it says. disk 4 partiton 1. 111.8 GB
i then try to format it. it thinks for a time and says it cant format it.??

and not sure its importent but. it says 111.8 gb free space. but surgest a partion of 114.somehting. `? i have trayd with that and wiht alot of other numbers like 111.8 111.78- 111.5 and so on. but nothing


i have also tryed to format it while in win7. with all my drives connected,.
in disk manegement. and again there it usualy finds it it the beginning. but after a few tryes it disapeers from the list.

so how come it can find it and i have aperently succeded in making a partition. but now it want format it.

if i boot just with DVD and SSD. sometimes i cant even find the dvd with win7. or it boots something called 2.2 infinity but i dont knwo what it is.
and wikie says its a car. so but when choosing a drive form that boot i only get my 3 dvd burners to choose.

sometimes when i reboot. i just says no operating system. ?

im stuck. i cant figure out what to do `?

Please help
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 3.2.MSI 890FXA-GD70. 2x4GB Vengeance DDR3.twin Frozer II 6950. X-FI Pro .NQ 1000W
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 05-16-12, 09:33
plodr's Avatar
plodr plodr is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: at my computer
Posts: 14,300
Thanks: 204
Thanked 2,598 Times in 2,406 Posts
Default Re: new SSD. cant format it

120 GB = 111.75+ GB due to rounding errors. Manufacturers represent 1 GB as 1000 MB and 1MB as 1000 kb and 1 kb as 1000 bytes so the ssd has 120,000,000,000 bytes.

But to convert you need to divide by 1024 each time, not 1000. So 120,000,000,000 bytes divided by 1024 to change to kb, then divide by 1024 to change to MB and last divide by 1024 to convert to GB and you get 111.758708953

You are trying to create a 114 GB partition on an ssd that is only 111.75+ GB.

Next: Windows 7 will format the ssd for you during the install so you do not need to format it before you start the install.

Quote:
wikie says its a car.
I assume you mean a wiki but I have no idea what you mean by "car".

Quote:
when choosing a drive form that boot i only get my 3 dvd burners to choose
I assume you mean when you try for a boot menu, it usually does not allow you to select the ssd.

Quote:
sometimes when i reboot. i just says no operating system
Sounds like you have not installed Windows 7 on the ssd drive so when it sees the ssd, there is no operating system. When it doesn't see the ssd, it wants to boot from a DVD drive with an operating system in the drive.

I suggest you remove two of the three DVD drives (simply pull the cables from the drive or the motherboard) do not physically remove the drives from the case.
Put the Windows 7 disk in the DVD drive and let it install to the ssd.
__________________
7" ASUS eeepc lubuntu 14.04
Aspire V5 7 HomePremium
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-16-12, 10:34
Storkraft's Avatar
Storkraft Storkraft is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 186
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: new SSD. cant format it

yes i know the nr of GB dosent represent the actual usable nr of GB,
and as i said i tryed several sizes. also 110. gb. but i couldent format.

no windows cant format.
i can usualy do it that way but not now.


i looked up 2.2 infinity. since i have no ideer wha tit is but i can see it in bios.
and i looked at wikiepedia. and it showed me a car.

and when i boots with 2.2 infinity. it shows a boot meny. and it only showed the 3 dvd. drives.

and some times when with just the ssd. and the dvd drives connected.
and the win7 in one of the drives. (the first boost one)
dont think it matters. but its also the only sata drive the other 2 DVD drives are IDE. so i thougt it would install faster that way.

and no win 7 is not installed. it cant install as long as it is not formatted.

it is patitioned. but all tryes to format fails. not with all my normal drives active. and when i can find it under my computer. and i try to format it it tryes but says "failed to format the selected partition (error:0x80070057)"

so it is partioned. so its just the format that fails.
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 3.2.MSI 890FXA-GD70. 2x4GB Vengeance DDR3.twin Frozer II 6950. X-FI Pro .NQ 1000W
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-16-12, 17:27
tgell tgell is offline
Major Geek Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3,598
Thanks: 208
Thanked 938 Times in 883 Posts
Default Re: new SSD. cant format it

I would try disabling 2.2 infinity as that feature is only used for 2.2TB or larger drives. Also, 2.2TB Infinity only supports IDE mode.

http://service.msicomputer.com/html/...esoformid=2909
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-16-12, 18:01
gman863's Avatar
gman863 gman863 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,387
Thanks: 178
Thanked 494 Times in 442 Posts
Default Re: new SSD. cant format it

My dad purchased an OCZ for his netbook a few weeks ago and had the same problem.

After he finally called OCZ tech support, it turned out the drive required a firmware upgrade for it to work properly.

If the other ideas fail, it may be worth a visit to OCZ's support page or a call to OCZ tech support to see if this is the case with your drive.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 05-17-12, 01:35
Storkraft's Avatar
Storkraft Storkraft is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Denmark
Posts: 186
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: new SSD. cant format it

im now on there forum.. but i cant ask enything.
well maybe later. might be a cooldown period.

so i hope they can help.

thanks
__________________
AMD Phenom II X6 3.2.MSI 890FXA-GD70. 2x4GB Vengeance DDR3.twin Frozer II 6950. X-FI Pro .NQ 1000W
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
16:9 widescreen format V.S. 4:3 format - monitors bocaj Hardware 6 10-21-09 15:41
Should I format my HDD using Quick Format or not? mike2op Software 23 10-10-05 09:12
Converting .rms format video to a DVD format. Yaaqob1154 Software 5 06-30-05 13:29
XP install exited during new disc format and now I cannot format disc - help please! sparx Hardware 11 12-24-04 00:25


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 00:58.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger