MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Malware Removal
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Malware Removal Malware removal forum. Please see the READ ME FIRST thread before you post. Forum is staffed by a small number of volunteers, please be patient.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-28-12, 20:10
KauaiSis KauaiSis is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 37
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

I began getting a black popup window labeled "Windows/System32/wuauclt.exe" I did a scan with Avast which found 4 bad files which it removed, but that did not help so I'm here.

I tried my best (took me five hours!) to follow the Read and Run First steps. I'm attaching all requested logs plus the Avast log.

Thank you for your help! (You helped me in the past).avast log.jpg

RKreport[1].txt

RKreport[2].txt

mbam-log-2012-06-28 (01-47-53).txt
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-28-12, 20:41
KauaiSis KauaiSis is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 37
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

Sorry, for the life of me I couldn't figure out how else to save the Avast log so I simply screenshot it. I'm also not sure why there are two RK logs.

I think this black window going on and off is driving me insane.







MGlogs.zip

log.zip
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-29-12, 00:35
chaslang's Avatar
chaslang chaslang is offline
MajorGeeks Admin - Master Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Northern New Jersey USA
Posts: 80,593
Thanks: 62
Thanked 7,743 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default Re: Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

Your logs are clean. What Avast shows are valid Windows file:
Code:
rdpudd.dll           - Microsoft RDP Display Driver
rdpvideominiport.sys - Microsoft RDP Video Miniport driver
Quote:
Originally Posted by KauaiSis View Post
I began getting a black popup window labeled "Windows/System32/wuauclt.exe"
Which name is? You said winauclt.exe in your thread title and now you are saying wuauclt.exe. wuauclt.exe is Windows Update and it is not showing as running in your logs.
__________________
"There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary and those who don't."


Support Majorgeeks on Facebook:

Majorgeeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chaslang For This Useful Post:
KauaiSis (07-01-12)
  #4  
Old 06-29-12, 01:01
KauaiSis KauaiSis is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 37
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

Hi sorry about that. It's wuauclt...although I'm trying to make sure now, but the window flashes too fast to read. I was able to read it last night when it stopped for a little longer than the half second it's doing now. I should say that ONE time I was able to click the X and I was redirected to some website with advertising... not sure because I quickly closed it.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-12, 01:11
chaslang's Avatar
chaslang chaslang is offline
MajorGeeks Admin - Master Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Northern New Jersey USA
Posts: 80,593
Thanks: 62
Thanked 7,743 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default Re: Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

It may just be from something you have running as it does not appear to be malware. Does it happen if you boot your PC in safe mode?
__________________
"There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary and those who don't."


Support Majorgeeks on Facebook:

Majorgeeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chaslang For This Useful Post:
KauaiSis (07-01-12)
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 06-29-12, 01:31
chaslang's Avatar
chaslang chaslang is offline
MajorGeeks Admin - Master Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Northern New Jersey USA
Posts: 80,593
Thanks: 62
Thanked 7,743 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default Re: Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaslang View Post
It may just be from something you have running
Oh and if I had to guess... I would say it is likely one of the below from Acer.

Quote:
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SuiteTray] "C:\Program Files\EgisTec MyWinLockerSuite\x86\SuiteTray.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EgisUpdate] "C:\Program Files\EgisTec IPS\EgisUpdate.exe" -d
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EgisTecPMMUpdate] "C:\Program Files\EgisTec IPS\PmmUpdate.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Acer ePower Management] C:\Program Files\Acer\Acer ePower Management\ePowerTray.exe
O23 - Service: Acer ePower Service (ePowerSvc) - Acer Incorporated - C:\Program Files\Acer\Acer ePower Management\ePowerSvc.exe
O23 - Service: GREGService - Acer Incorporated - C:\Program Files\Acer\Registration\GREGsvc.exe
O23 - Service: MyWinLocker Service (MWLService) - Egis Technology Inc. - C:\Program Files\EgisTec MyWinLocker\x86\MWLService.exe
O23 - Service: Raw Socket Service (RS_Service) - Acer Incorporated - C:\Program Files\Acer\Acer VCM\RS_Service.exe
__________________
"There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary and those who don't."


Support Majorgeeks on Facebook:

Majorgeeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chaslang For This Useful Post:
KauaiSis (07-01-12)
  #7  
Old 06-29-12, 04:59
KauaiSis KauaiSis is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 37
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

Could it be MyWinlocker Suite? I don't know how this got on my netbook. My nephew installed his wireless Canon printer so I could print when I visited him. I just closed all the Canon applications.

Not sure how to start in Safe Mode.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-29-12, 05:46
KauaiSis KauaiSis is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 37
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

I uninstalled the WinLocker and restarted, but the black window appeared again! This time however, the window stays up and I get a small window saying "NTVDM.EXE has stopped working. A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify yuo if a solution is available." I click on Close Program... but then a few seconds later it starts all over again (black window then NTVDM window).
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-29-12, 21:27
chaslang's Avatar
chaslang chaslang is offline
MajorGeeks Admin - Master Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Northern New Jersey USA
Posts: 80,593
Thanks: 62
Thanked 7,743 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default Re: Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

Quote:
Originally Posted by KauaiSis View Post
Not sure how to start in Safe Mode.
See the below and give it a try:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...r-in-safe-mode


The NTVDM.EXE problem is again a sign of a program or driver conflict or a problem with Windows. Not likely malware.
__________________
"There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary and those who don't."


Support Majorgeeks on Facebook:

Majorgeeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chaslang For This Useful Post:
KauaiSis (07-01-12)
  #10  
Old 07-01-12, 17:35
KauaiSis KauaiSis is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 37
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

Hi again....sorry for the delay. Ok I started in safe mode and no sign of that dreaded black window. (I opened Internet Explorer and it wasn't connected). Then I started normally and again I get the black window and then "ntvdm.exe has stopped working". It may have something to do with the Canon wireless printer program. I'm trying to figure out how to disable it from starting without uninstalling the whole program.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 07-01-12, 20:21
KauaiSis KauaiSis is offline
Private First Class
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 61
Thanks: 37
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default Re: Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

Hi again... I did a system restore to before the Canon was installed and so far so good. Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-02-12, 01:12
chaslang's Avatar
chaslang chaslang is offline
MajorGeeks Admin - Master Malware Expert
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Northern New Jersey USA
Posts: 80,593
Thanks: 62
Thanked 7,743 Times in 4,183 Posts
Default Re: Black Popup "winauclt.exe"

You're welcome. Glad to hear you fixed your problem.


If you are not having any other malware problems, it is time to do our final steps:
  1. We recommend you keep SUPERAntiSpyware and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware for scanning/removal of malware. Unless you purchase them, they provide no protection. They do not use any significant amount of resources ( except a little disk space ) until you run a scan.
  2. If we had you use ComboFix, uninstall ComboFix (This uninstall will only work as written if you installed ComboFix on your Desktop like we requested.)
    • Press and hold the Windows key and then press the letter R on your keyboard. This opens the Run dialog box.
    • Copy and paste the below into the Run box and then click OK. Note the quotes are required
    • "%userprofile%\Desktop\combofix" /uninstall
      • Notes: The space between the combofix" and the /uninstall, it must be there.
      • This will uninstall ComboFix and also reset hidden files and folders settings back to Windows defaults.
  3. Go back to step 6 oof the READ ME and renable your Disk Emulation software with Defogger if you had disabled it.
  4. Any other miscellaneous tools we may have had you install or download can be uninstalled and deleted.
  5. If we had you download any registry patches like fixme.reg or fixWLK.reg (or any others), you can delete these files now.
  6. If running Vista or Win 7, it is time to make sure you have reenabled UAC by double clicking on the C:\MGtools\enableUAC.reg file and allowing it to be added to the registry.
  7. Go to add/remove programs and uninstall HijackThis.
  8. Goto the C:\MGtools folder and find the MGclean.bat file. Double click on this file to run this cleanup program that will remove files and folders
    related to MGtools and some other items from our cleaning procedures.
  9. After doing the above, you should work thru the below link:
__________________
"There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand binary and those who don't."


Support Majorgeeks on Facebook:

Majorgeeks Newsletter
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chaslang For This Useful Post:
KauaiSis (07-03-12)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firefox Popup """" http://ad.yieldmanager.com bismarcktirpitz Software 5 07-16-08 07:05
Firefox Popup """" http://ad.yieldmanager.com bismarcktirpitz Malware Removal 16 01-04-08 16:06
Received a popup "make about.blank your homepage" I clicked no... Lori Hahn Malware Removal 1 06-12-06 19:56
I need help in removing "Dial Up Optimiser" 7 day trial popup from my windows 95 ! RenalJim Software 2 05-23-05 16:14


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 21:56.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger