MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-30-12, 00:25
9550 9550 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default do i have any redundancy here?

hey all

i dont have any apparent problems at the moment, but im trying to figure out what i should be doing and what software i should have to keep things running smoothly.

not sure exactly how to go about it however. best thing i can do i guess is list what im using here, and hopefully somebody can start teaching me

this is what i have running/use on a regular basis (with windows 7):
avira free antivirus
advanced system care 5
ccleaner
iobit malware fighter

i just installed zone alarm free


now, what i dont know is if i have redundancy, if theyre incompatable with each other, or if theyre incompatable with any windows programs (defender, whatever), or if im missing anything obvious

apparently zone alarm is also anti-virus, and as far as i know, we shouldnt be using multiple anti-virus software, no?
i added the zone alarm for firewall protection, because i dont know enough to know if the windows firewall works, is working, or works well.


thanks in advance for any insight
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-30-12, 01:00
pwillener's Avatar
pwillener pwillener is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 1,638
Thanks: 17
Thanked 273 Times in 245 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

Do you also have Windows Defender or Microsoft Security Essentials installed and running?

Do you also have the Windows Firewall active?

P.S. ZoneAlarm free does not provide antivirus protection.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-30-12, 01:19
mjnc mjnc is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East coast, USA
Posts: 1,820
Thanks: 253
Thanked 479 Times in 414 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

Hi 9550.

Here are a couple of articles about the Windows 7 firewall:

3 Things You Should Know About Your Windows 7 Firewall
Windows 7 Firewall: How It Compares Against Other Firewalls

I suggest you dump the ZoneAlarm.

Privatefirewall and Comodo Personal Firewall are both highly rated
and both are listed on the Top Freeware Picks page.

For additional security you can consider SpywareBlaster which is Free and provides passive protection.
There is an instructional video by Major Attitude on the download page.

You can also use OpenDNS which adds another layer of protection.

Here are some links that I hope will be helpful.
Change Your Settings
Configuration for Windows XP
Knowledge Base: Networks with Dynamic IP Address
Dynamic IP: General Info
Dynamic IP: Windows Updater Documentation

Update:
Yes, you are correct.
Only One antivirus and One firewall (active).
__________________
Kaboodle: la carte
Experience is what you get right after you needed it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-30-12, 08:09
solaris89 solaris89 is offline
Master Sergeant
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Florida
Posts: 677
Thanks: 49
Thanked 188 Times in 148 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjnc View Post
I suggest you dump the ZoneAlarm.
I'll second that.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-04-12, 15:33
9550 9550 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwillener View Post
Do you also have Windows Defender or Microsoft Security Essentials installed and running?

Do you also have the Windows Firewall active?
not sure.
not sure.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwillener View Post
P.S. ZoneAlarm free does not provide antivirus protection.
do you mean literally or figuratively? because the zone alarm software says antivirus and firewall


sorry for the delay in response, been without power for a while
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 07-04-12, 21:49
pwillener's Avatar
pwillener pwillener is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 1,638
Thanks: 17
Thanked 273 Times in 245 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pwillener View Post
ZoneAlarm free does not provide antivirus protection.
Sorry for that misinformation; it seems that it has changed since I last used ZoneAlarm; it does seem to offer antivirus now.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-05-12, 06:53
9550 9550 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

so i ditched the zonealarm, and im trying to install comodo personal firewall. after it asks me what language i want, i choose english, next popup says 'this installation does not support target platform'
any ideas?
using windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-05-12, 07:29
mjnc mjnc is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East coast, USA
Posts: 1,820
Thanks: 253
Thanked 479 Times in 414 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

Check to see if you should be using the standard version OR the 64 bit version.

Both are available at the MG download page.
__________________
Kaboodle: la carte
Experience is what you get right after you needed it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-05-12, 07:36
9550 9550 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 9550 View Post
so i ditched the zonealarm, and im trying to install comodo personal firewall. after it asks me what language i want, i choose english, next popup says 'this installation does not support target platform'
any ideas?
using windows 7
went to comodo site http://personalfirewall.comodo.com/free-download.html
was able to install the 32/64bit windows installer
didnt realize however the drop down included options for 32bit windows 7 and 64bit windows 7.
the link from here for the personal comodo firewall is for 64x which i assume is the 64bit, and was the one i was having trouble with.
so, whats the difference between 32/64bit windows installer, and 32 bit windows 7/vista/xp sp2, and 64bit windows 7/vista/xp sp2 choices?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-05-12, 07:36
9550 9550 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjnc View Post
Check to see if you should be using the standard version OR the 64 bit version.

Both are available at the MG download page.
see my recent post, but regarding your reply, how would i check that?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #11  
Old 07-05-12, 07:41
9550 9550 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

hmm, i just noticed that the download i tried from mg was x86. i dont even know that that is.
i see theres the 64bit link as well as you said mjnc

going to uninstall everything and try the x64
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07-05-12, 07:51
mjnc mjnc is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East coast, USA
Posts: 1,820
Thanks: 253
Thanked 479 Times in 414 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 9550 View Post
see my recent post, but regarding your reply, how would i check that?
How to Tell if Windows 7 is a 32-bit or 64-bit System Type
__________________
Kaboodle: la carte
Experience is what you get right after you needed it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07-05-12, 07:57
9550 9550 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

im a dope. i could have figured that out. computer properties, simple.

should i be choosing to use the comodo secure dns servers?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07-05-12, 08:08
mjnc mjnc is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East coast, USA
Posts: 1,820
Thanks: 253
Thanked 479 Times in 414 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

To begin with, I suggest that you do Not change your DNS server configuration.

Wait until everything is working properly and then consider if you want to change.

There is info about OpenDNS in my first post.
__________________
Kaboodle: la carte
Experience is what you get right after you needed it.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07-05-12, 08:22
9550 9550 is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjnc View Post
To begin with, I suggest that you do Not change your DNS server configuration.

Wait until everything is working properly and then consider if you want to change.

There is info about OpenDNS in my first post.
ah, i didnt get down to that link yet

so when you say wait til 'everything is working properly' youre talking about the new install, correct? because i didnt have any problems before.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #16  
Old 07-05-12, 08:37
mjnc mjnc is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East coast, USA
Posts: 1,820
Thanks: 253
Thanked 479 Times in 414 Posts
Default Re: do i have any redundancy here?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 9550 View Post
so when you say wait til 'everything is working properly' youre talking about the new install, correct? because i didnt have any problems before.
Yes.

You are installing a new software firewall.

I've never had any first hand experience with Comodo firewall.
I'm now using Privatefirewall.
__________________
Kaboodle: la carte
Experience is what you get right after you needed it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cyclic redundancy check??? Blowyamind Hardware 5 06-04-10 19:36
WAN Redundancy, is it possible? hankyknot Hardware 4 06-05-09 06:59
Firewall redundancy? Howmanator Hardware 4 04-27-09 16:20
Data Redundancy Check?!?! HELP! shortie Software 3 12-16-06 02:43
Cyclic Redundancy Check seaside Software 3 08-30-06 07:56


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:19.

MajorGeeks.Com Menu

MajorGeeks.Com \ All In One Tweaks \ Android \ Anti-Malware \ Anti-Virus \ Appearance \ Backup \ Browsers \ CD\DVD\Blu-Ray \ Covert Ops \ Drive Utilities \ Drivers \ Graphics \ Internet Tools \ Multimedia \ Networking \ Office Tools \ NEW! PC Games \ System Tools \ Macintosh \ Demonews.Com \ Top Downloads

MajorGeeks.Com \ News (Tech) \ Off Base (Other Websites News) \ Way Off Base (Offbeat Stories and Pics)

Social: Facebook \ YouTube \ Twitter \ Tumblr \ Pintrest \ RSS Feeds


All content Copyright MajorGeeks.com source code Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger