MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= Welcome =---------- > The Lounge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

The Lounge Hang out and have some fun with your fellow Majorgeeks!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-29-12, 14:06
grc123 grc123 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,244
Thanks: 1,345
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Question Google (Search) Lettin' Me Down : (

I mentioned on Facebook that I didn't know how to make "musical notes/symbols" appear in my comments, so a friend says:

"I Googled it. Alt 13 for single note. Alt 14 for double note. Doesn't work on a Mac though."

Then she proceeds to inform me:

"♪ ♫ Is your "function" key on lock?" (I cop pasted the symbols here..."IF" they happen to show-up)...

I have NO CLUE what a "function" key lock is . . . anyone know? I've tried "Scroll Lock", "Caps Lock", etc., and finding nothing in a search...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2  
Old 06-29-12, 14:10
Colemanguy's Avatar
Colemanguy Colemanguy is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Salina Kansas
Posts: 3,518
Thanks: 147
Thanked 280 Times in 239 Posts
Default Re: Google (Search) Lettin' Me Down : (

pushing and holding alt then using the number pad to do 13 gives me = ♪
pushing and holding alt then using the pad to do 14 gives me = ♫
If your on a laptop you might have to activate the number pad section using fn key, but as i recall your using a desktop? If so just use the number pad on your keyboard and ignore the function lock part.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Colemanguy For This Useful Post:
grc123 (06-29-12), handygal (07-01-12)
  #3  
Old 06-29-12, 14:26
grc123 grc123 is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,244
Thanks: 1,345
Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts
Default Re: Google (Search) Lettin' Me Down : (

Quote:
Originally Posted by Colemanguy View Post
pushing and holding alt then using the number pad to do 13 gives me = ♪
pushing and holding alt then using the pad to do 14 gives me = ♫
If your on a laptop you might have to activate the number pad section using fn key, but as i recall your using a desktop? If so just use the number pad on your keyboard and ignore the function lock part.
♫ OHHHHH it's the "pad"!! I was using the numbers across the top (as I usually do) - THANKS!!! ♪
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-29-12, 15:51
oma's Avatar
oma oma is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,716
Thanks: 321
Thanked 560 Times in 496 Posts
Default Re: Google (Search) Lettin' Me Down : (

Alt codes list: http://alt-codes.org/list/
__________________
Dell Vostro 460, 10 GB RAM, Win 7 Home Premium x64, SP1, Firefox, Palemoon, IE10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-29-12, 16:28
mjnc mjnc is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: East coast, USA
Posts: 1,771
Thanks: 241
Thanked 462 Times in 399 Posts
Default Re: Google (Search) Lettin' Me Down : (

Those are ASCII codes (American Standard Code for Information Interchange).

ASCII Codes and characters
Quote:
To create these characters yourself, hold "alt" down and type the numbers in on the right side of the keyboard (num pad) then let go of the buttons and the character will appear.
__________________
Experience is what you get right after you needed it.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6  
Old 07-01-12, 20:06
handygal handygal is offline
Sergeant Major
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Beachy and warm
Posts: 807
Thanks: 83
Thanked 103 Times in 101 Posts
Default Re: Google (Search) Lettin' Me Down : (

Thank you thank you! I've been meaning to look this up. I've been lazy and copying/pasting on my laptop because I just don't use it enough at home. When I write something in another language it makes me crazy. Also very handy when complaining about the crazy weather here and I'm the dork who can't use the sign from her laptop. Took me a minute to work out that it's Fn-Alt-jo7 even with the heads up.
__________________
If everything seems under control, you're just not going fast enough -Mario Andretti
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
pls help : Google.com search results are redirected to google.ca dumiduw Malware Removal 4 05-18-12 05:52
Oh the irony - Google Chrome won't load Google Search ithryn Software 1 04-26-12 17:09
Google Chrome/Firefox google search redirect virus help. time_warrior66 Malware Removal 3 07-12-11 11:54
Google Chrome Won't Load, Google Search re-directing.... geoffclark Malware Removal 25 05-22-10 22:20
Google search not working plus spyware removal ads are replacing google adsense dudethat Malware Removal 6 04-28-08 22:47


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger