MajorGeeks Support Forums

Go Back   MajorGeeks Support Forums > ----------= PC, Desktop and Laptop Support =---------- > Software
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Casino Mark Forums Read

Software Software such as operating systems like Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7 etc., or specific programs.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 08-31-12, 16:47
Peachtree Peachtree is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gloozit View Post
Went through the replacement for Everest. It seems to be the same.
|MG| AIDA32 - Personal System Information 3.93 Download
It is the same program just different vendor. Click the second download link. (The one above internode)
This comes in a zip package, just double click the aida32.exe. It won't install, so nothing to uninstall
When done scanning your system, click the report button, chose Hardware related, and text, save the report and post it here.
This is Everest, by it's new owners. I have no idea why those links are dead.
Ok, so the results are really long. How do I post the file without copying/pasting?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09-03-12, 02:35
pwillener's Avatar
pwillener pwillener is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 1,569
Thanks: 17
Thanked 259 Times in 232 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peachtree View Post
Ok, so the results are really long. How do I post the file without copying/pasting?
If it's a text file, you can attach it to the post (Manage Attachments).
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09-03-12, 06:01
gloozit's Avatar
gloozit gloozit is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Third Coast
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 233
Thanked 187 Times in 153 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

Quote:
I've seen the owner here, recommend it. I tested it and felt it worked and it did up date a driver, on a new install, that I was sure had the newest (unlike how Driver Detective works)
|MG| SlimDrivers 2.2.21833.59370 Download
Watch the install,they include third party stuff to pay the bills.
This works.
__________________
"I didn't do anything wrong, and I may do it again."
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 09-04-12, 10:59
Peachtree Peachtree is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

Ok, Catrin's post looks like spam to me, so I'm not trying that.

I've attached a copy of the report that got...
Attached Files
File Type: txt Report.txt (179.4 KB, 6 views)
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 09-06-12, 14:02
Peachtree Peachtree is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

*Bump*
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26  
Old 09-17-12, 17:26
Peachtree Peachtree is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

So I attached a copy of the report as asked, and...nothing????
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 09-17-12, 19:29
gloozit's Avatar
gloozit gloozit is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Third Coast
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 233
Thanked 187 Times in 153 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

It looks like it's not installing, because the chipset driver doesn't look installed.
This is the chipset driver from the Dell page: Dell-Driver
Install it, reboot, check sound, if there isn't any, install your sound drivers again: SIGMATEL-Driver
If any other drivers are missing after that, this is "your" page: http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/...iceTag/1PZZX81
It's the service tag page with all the drivers, specific to your PC. (minus the chipset driver)


And sorry about the wait. Sometimes threads get lost.
__________________
"I didn't do anything wrong, and I may do it again."
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 09-18-12, 11:10
Peachtree Peachtree is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gloozit View Post
It looks like it's not installing, because the chipset driver doesn't look installed.
This is the chipset driver from the Dell page: Dell-Driver
Install it, reboot, check sound, if there isn't any, install your sound drivers again: SIGMATEL-Driver
If any other drivers are missing after that, this is "your" page: http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/...iceTag/1PZZX81
It's the service tag page with all the drivers, specific to your PC. (minus the chipset driver)


And sorry about the wait. Sometimes threads get lost.
No worries...that's why I get *bump* happy

Ok, so I d/l and installed the chipset driver and my sound still didn't work. D/l the SigmaTel driver and when it went to install, it said "The system does not support the driver you are attempting to install" :/

Is there a way based off that report/list I attached earlier that I can tell if I'm specifically missing any drivers before I go randomly wasting time and downloading them all?

Thanks for all your help so far!
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 09-18-12, 11:56
gloozit's Avatar
gloozit gloozit is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Third Coast
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 233
Thanked 187 Times in 153 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peachtree View Post
Is there a way based off that report/list I attached earlier that I can tell if I'm specifically missing any drivers before I go randomly wasting time and downloading them all?

Thanks for all your help so far!
Not exactly sure, if everything that shows in the debug are actually missing drivers. But it certainly looks like the chipset isn't right or something else is messing with the installs. I'll dig back through the text and attach anything that may help you.
I used your Dell tag to get the list of everything specific to your PC. so that must be the right sound driver, unless I missed something in that report.
I also tried to find your chipset at Intel, but went in circles. Sometimes sites, put the wrong drivers up and I'm wondering if that is the case with this chipset and sound.

Back to the SlimDrivers software, I keep throwing at you. It works. At least,it has so far, from what I have seen. Talk to your office head or the boss or whoever is above you about trying it. It is a clean app, even with the third party stuff. A lot of vendors are doing the same thing now. And once it finds the right drivers and installs them, you can simply uninstall it (and the 3rd party stuff, if you let it install)
Of course it may not solve your problem if there is something else, going on.
The one thing I did notice is the sound device it is using, seems to be from the Legacy stuff. I'll also check to see if you can unistall the Legacy, then install your sound.
But I need to check, that the Legacy reinstalls, on a re boot, first.

I'll post back in awhile, with I find.
__________________
"I didn't do anything wrong, and I may do it again."
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 09-18-12, 12:27
Peachtree Peachtree is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gloozit View Post
Not exactly sure, if everything that shows in the debug are actually missing drivers. But it certainly looks like the chipset isn't right or something else is messing with the installs. I'll dig back through the text and attach anything that may help you.
I used your Dell tag to get the list of everything specific to your PC. so that must be the right sound driver, unless I missed something in that report.
I also tried to find your chipset at Intel, but went in circles. Sometimes sites, put the wrong drivers up and I'm wondering if that is the case with this chipset and sound.

Back to the SlimDrivers software, I keep throwing at you. It works. At least,it has so far, from what I have seen. Talk to your office head or the boss or whoever is above you about trying it. It is a clean app, even with the third party stuff. A lot of vendors are doing the same thing now. And once it finds the right drivers and installs them, you can simply uninstall it (and the 3rd party stuff, if you let it install)
Of course it may not solve your problem if there is something else, going on.
The one thing I did notice is the sound device it is using, seems to be from the Legacy stuff. I'll also check to see if you can unistall the Legacy, then install your sound.
But I need to check, that the Legacy reinstalls, on a re boot, first.

I'll post back in awhile, with I find.
Thanks gloozit....appreciate it!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #31  
Old 09-18-12, 12:57
gloozit's Avatar
gloozit gloozit is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Third Coast
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 233
Thanked 187 Times in 153 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

Ok I found somethings. These are odd, that's why I assumed it's chipset, not loaded right, but I have other thoughts now.
Ok this, usually points to no chipset driver, along with the things at the very end of the report, in the debug section.
Motherboard:
CPU Type Unknown, 2800 MHz (3.5 x 800)
Motherboard Name Dell Inc. Dell DXP051
Motherboard Chipset Unknown


This should be showing Sigmatel or Creative
Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Modem #0 Line Playback

This means a slot, is being used in a PEG configuration (instead of PCI) It usually is graphics, that use this, but not always. There are also two PCI slots in use. (not listed here)
System Slot Properties:
Slot Designation PEG
Usage In Use

Length Long

This is totally wrong and should be a Sigmatel or Creative device,
[ Windows Audio ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wave-in.0 0001 0050 Modem #0 Line Record
wave-out.0 0001 0051 Modem #0 Line Playback

In the debug section, is this:
PCI/AGP Unknown

So a PCI slot is being used, but not recognized. That slot is probably your sound.

What I am thinking, because of all that, is, your sound device is dead. That could be two reasons, one it's dead.
Or you have a sound card, in that unknown PCI slot and it needs re-seating. (Or it is dead)
You will have to take a look.
Look at the back of your case, where the sound cable plugs in, then open the case side, and look at that same spot, inside the case, Does it connect to the motherboard or to a card, fitted into a slot?
Shut down and unplug the power just to be safe, before looking.
If you are plugged into a card, disconnect the outside cable, release the card (little tab on the slot) and gently, pull it straight up. Then solidly reseat it.
If that doesn't allow you to install the sound, then, you guessed it, the card is dead.

Simple enough fix and cheap, as you want.
Sound cards vary in price, but you can get a decent enough one for $20.

I attached the section that shows devices and drivers. I usually skip this area, because it is so long and the info I need is easier to find, in other sections.
But looking through here, it looks like devices are all recognized and have drivers, except for a sound device.
Another reason I think it is a dead or unseated card.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Devices and drivers.txt (64.1 KB, 2 views)
__________________
"I didn't do anything wrong, and I may do it again."
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gloozit For This Useful Post:
Peachtree (09-18-12)
  #32  
Old 09-18-12, 13:04
Peachtree Peachtree is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gloozit View Post
Ok I found somethings. These are odd, that's why I assumed it's chipset, not loaded right, but I have other thoughts now.
Ok this, usually points to no chipset driver, along with the things at the very end of the report, in the debug section.
Motherboard:
CPU Type Unknown, 2800 MHz (3.5 x 800)
Motherboard Name Dell Inc. Dell DXP051
Motherboard Chipset Unknown


This should be showing Sigmatel or Creative
Multimedia:
Audio Adapter Modem #0 Line Playback

This means a slot, is being used in a PEG configuration (instead of PCI) It usually is graphics, that use this, but not always. There are also two PCI slots in use. (not listed here)
System Slot Properties:
Slot Designation PEG
Usage In Use

Length Long

This is totally wrong and should be a Sigmatel or Creative device,
[ Windows Audio ]-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wave-in.0 0001 0050 Modem #0 Line Record
wave-out.0 0001 0051 Modem #0 Line Playback

In the debug section, is this:
PCI/AGP Unknown

So a PCI slot is being used, but not recognized. That slot is probably your sound.

What I am thinking, because of all that, is, your sound device is dead. That could be two reasons, one it's dead.
Or you have a sound card, in that unknown PCI slot and it needs re-seating. (Or it is dead)
You will have to take a look.
Look at the back of your case, where the sound cable plugs in, then open the case side, and look at that same spot, inside the case, Does it connect to the motherboard or to a card, fitted into a slot?
Shut down and unplug the power just to be safe, before looking.
If you are plugged into a card, disconnect the outside cable, release the card (little tab on the slot) and gently, pull it straight up. Then solidly reseat it.
If that doesn't allow you to install the sound, then, you guessed it, the card is dead.

Simple enough fix and cheap, as you want.
Sound cards vary in price, but you can get a decent enough one for $20.

I attached the section that shows devices and drivers. I usually skip this area, because it is so long and the info I need is easier to find, in other sections.
But looking through here, it looks like devices are all recognized and have drivers, except for a sound device.
Another reason I think it is a dead or unseated card.
I doubt it is an unseated card, but perhaps something shifted when I opened the case to replace the hard drive (doubtful given the two opposite locations in the tower but anything is possible I guess)

I will try to reseat the card as suggested. If that doesn't work, I guess we'll try to buy another one. Is it possible that a hard drive going bad could kill the sound card? It was working fine before, then never worked after the HDD bit the dust....
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Peachtree For This Useful Post:
gloozit (09-18-12)
  #33  
Old 09-18-12, 13:08
gloozit's Avatar
gloozit gloozit is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Third Coast
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 233
Thanked 187 Times in 153 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

Ah, I must have forgotten about the replaced HDD. Sound worked before and not after?
Definitely, sounds like something is unseated.
No the HDD shouldn't have damaged the sound, unless the HDD damage was from an electrical problem, like a surge. But I think it is more than likely a bad connection, now.
__________________
"I didn't do anything wrong, and I may do it again."
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to gloozit For This Useful Post:
Peachtree (09-18-12)
  #34  
Old 09-18-12, 13:11
gloozit's Avatar
gloozit gloozit is offline
Major Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Third Coast
Posts: 1,091
Thanks: 233
Thanked 187 Times in 153 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

OH I forgot, if it is a card, we still don't know what it is. See if it is marked on the card some where.
Then use that driver
__________________
"I didn't do anything wrong, and I may do it again."
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 09-18-12, 13:11
Peachtree Peachtree is offline
Private E-2
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 19
Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Re: Audio Driver not functioning now...

Quote:
Originally Posted by gloozit View Post
Ah, I must have forgotten about the replaced HDD. Sound worked before and not after?
Definitely, sounds like something is unseated.
No the HDD shouldn't have damaged the sound, unless the HDD damage was from an electrical problem, like a surge. But I think it is more than likely a bad connection, now.
I'll crack it open this afternoon and post back up here...
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Peachtree For This Useful Post:
gloozit (09-18-12)
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another request- audio driver for intel 82801db ich4 - ac'97 audio controller driver sfackler Software 3 10-13-09 09:52
Can't find audio driver for intel 82801db ich4 - ac'97 audio controller driver momoji Software 14 04-20-08 08:05
No Audio, Install realtek hd audio driver failure VandaliaM Software 22 03-25-08 07:22
Can't find audio driver for intel 82801db ich4 - ac'97 audio controller driver RVP#11 Software 15 03-07-08 13:04
Can't find audio driver for intel 82801db ich4 - ac'97 audio controller driver EnchantedDreams Software 5 01-13-08 09:02


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55.


MajorGeeks.Com Home Page
| Admin Tools | All In One | Anti-Spyware | Anti-Virus | Appearance | Backup | Benchmarking | BIOS | Browsers | Covert Ops |
Data Recovery | Diagnostics | Drive Cleaners | Drive Utilities | Drivers | Driver Tools Ergonomics | Firewalls | Games | Game Tweaks | Graphics | Input Devices | Internet Tools | Macintosh | Mail Utilities | Memory | Messaging | Monitoring | Microsoft | Multimedia | Networking | Office Tools | Process Management | Processor | Registry | Security | System Info | Toys | Video | Miscellaneous
|
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright © 2009 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
Ad Management by RedTyger