Virus damaged registry

Discussion in 'Software' started by weesail, Oct 30, 2003.

1. weesail

weesail Private E-2

Hello. I am new to Major Geeks. I recently had two virus attacks. My AVG caught it and cleaned it. However, I still have damaged registries and shared files. For, example : my screensavers won't run more than a few minutes before entire screen goes blank. Even with no screensaver my desktop wallpaper disappears.I have tried several programs to repair this but no luck so far. Hope one of you has a suggestion that will help. Thanks.

2. Kodo

Kodo SNATCHSQUATCH

3. Endi

Endi Lt. Links

Windows

or screen savers that you installed aside from the ones that come with the operating system. What screen savers are you talking about.

Reason I ask is because you might fix all this problems by reinstalling windows. You see when you install windows all you are doing is resetting the windows folder c:/windows it does not change the other programs that are in your system

if the programs that are screwing up are not from the operating system try installing those programs again

4. weesail

weesail Private E-2

I run Windows 98, 56 K dial up, 32 bit memory, Pentium 3 processor.. The built in screensavers are the ones that won't run more than a few minutes. As for the desktop wallpaper, it is from a trusted site I have used for years.I did re-install windows . The diagnosis from a scan I ran said the problems were in certain registries and a couple of windows shared files. I am not puter literate enough to feel comfortable messing with such files on my own. I tries several repair programs. They fixed some of the bad files but not all as I still have the problem. Hope this helps you figure out what I should do. Thanks.

5. Endi

Endi Lt. Links

Try

also reinstalling the programs that the scan tells you are not set up correctly.
    Also download if you have not done so already

ad aware or spybot or even both

run them on your computer