blinking yellow lights-dell won't turn on

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by lislordav, May 10, 2011.

1. lislordav

lislordav Private E-2

Dell dimension4300 won't turn on
    LED lights in back are blinking--A & B are orange
    C & D are green
    Don't know what to do
    any help appreciated:confused

2. sach2

sach2 Major Geek Extraordinaire

Hi,

Dell indicates that combination of lights is a memory problem.

Try reseating the RAM modules. If that doesn't work; if you have more than one module try using just one at a time to see if you can isolate the bad module.

3. lislordav

lislordav Private E-2

Thanks for reply. How do you reseat ram module?
    I'm a novice at this...

4. Spock96

Spock96 Major Geek 'Spocky'

5. iain.t

iain.t MajorGeek

Hi,
    Here is a link to the manual for your model of machine, it gives detailed instructions on how to get inside your case and upgrade stuff in there....

http://www.fixya.com/support/p349199-dell_dimension_4300_4300hq4n311_pc/manual-14419

I have also uploaded a couple of pics of what you should be looking for....

Follow these instructions and all will be fine....

1.) you must disconnect the power supply to the machine by removing the kettle plug from the rear of the machine.
    2.) press and hold down the power up button to dissapate any risidual left over power.
    3.) ground yourself by either touching the outer casing or wearing a anti-static wristband or touch a tap or radiator. this must be done as static shock can render your machine useless.
    4.)follow the instructions in your manual on how to remove the casing to expose the motherboard (pg.60 onwards).
    5.)look at the images that i have uploaded and locate them on the motherboard.
    6.)the ram modules are held in place by a clip at either end and are easly depressed to release the modules.remove all the modules.
    7.)clean the gold contacts on the ram modules with an eraser or alcohol wipe.